Denmark 2014: Copenhagen and B&W Hallerne will host Eurovision

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,108 views

DR and the EBU have officially announced that the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will be held at the B&W Hallerne in Copenhagen.  A total of 4 venues and 3 cities were in the final race to host the 2014 Eurovision extravaganza.

This will be the 3rd time that the Danish capital will be hosting the Eurovision Song Contest as it was hosted the 1964   and 2001 Eurovision Song Contests in Tivoli and the Parken Stadium respectively. Copenhagen also played host to the 2005 Congratulations show celebrating the 5oth annniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The former shipyard will undergo all necessary improvements to be able to host three state-of-the-art television shows in May next year. The slogan for the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will be ¨Join Us!¨

The decision was made  by the European Broadcasting Union  and the Reference Group, the contest’s governing body on behalf of the participating public broadcasters.

We are looking forward to welcoming Europe in Copenhagen, which is full of cultural diversity, has an excellent infrastructure and a variety of hotels. At the chosen venue we have the opportunity to realise our creative ambitions. The entire area around the B&W Hallerne will be transformed into Eurovision Island, where delegates, press and fans will come together-  Pernille Gaardbo  the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest  Executive Producer for DR has added.

Copenhagen is one of Europe’s most popular tourist destination and has what it takes to host an event of this scale- Mr  Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of EBU/EUROVISION. He adds: The chosen venue is a bold creative move, and we are confident that the good cooperation between DR and the City of Copenhagen will result in three shows that Europe will remember for a long time!

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 6,8 and 10 May in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Stay tuned to for more information on the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.