Sweden: Linda Bengtzing and Andreas Johnson qualify

by Sietse Bakker 70 views

Leksand calling! Linda Bengtzing and Andreas Johnson qualified for the final of Melodifestivalen 2006. Magnus Bäcklund and the Electric Banana Band qualified for the second chance heat of the Swedish national selection for the 51st Eurovision Song Contest.

Those who qualified for the final;

1. Andreas Johnson – Sing for me
2. Linda Bengtzing – Jag ljuger så bra

Those who qualified for the second chance heat;

3. Electric Banana Band – Kameleont
4. Magnus Bäcklund – The name of love

Anna Sahlene, who represented Estonia back in 2002, didn't manage to qualify, along with;

5. Anna Sahlene – This woman
6. Pandang – Kuddkrig
7. Hannah Graaf – Naughty boy
8. Simone Moreno – Aiayeh (the music of the samba)

An strong line-up in the first Swedish semifinal made it difficult to pick the best songs. Nevertheless, the main favorites managed to qualify.

After the first voting round, the songs ending up sixth or lower were elimnated. The Electric Banana Band, Anna Sahlene, Magnus Bäcklund, Linda Bengtzing and Andreas Johnson proceeded to the second round of voting. After another voting round, the two winning artists performed their songs once again.

The next semifinal takes place next Saturday. Due to the broadcasting schedule of the Winter Olympics, the show starts at 19:00 CET.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!