Tonight: Finland's third semifinal

by Alexander Borodin 105 views

Tonight it�s time for the third Finish semifinal in Eurovision Laulukilpailu. Three artists perform two songs each, one song by each artist proceeds to the final after voting. In this heat it�s time for Annika Eklund, The girl trio Jane (pictured) and the group Kilpi. One of tonight�s excitements (outside competition) is the special appearance by the popular girlduo CatCat, remembered for the song Bye bye baby, their Eurvision Song Contest entry from 1994.

Annika Eklund
Her two songs tonight are both in Finnish and are called Shanghain valot and Sinussa on jotain. She is a Swedish-Finnish artist, born in Vasa, but now lives in Jyväskylä. Besides music, she likes to dance and she has won the title Queen of Tango in a competition. Previously she has recorded two albums and a third album is about to be released. This is Annikas debut in the Finnish Eurovision selection.

Jane is a group that was created as a project for the popular television show Popstars in Finland. Their two songs tonight are called V.I.P and Sivuoireita. Jane became enormously popular in Finland after their television appearances and their debut album scored several successes on various charts in Finland. The group is made of Eeva-Leena Rautio , Mia Huovila and Tea Hiilloste.

Two names of the composers team behind the song Sivuoireita,should be mentioned here. Niklas Bergvall and Niclas King, both from Sweden, were successful last week in the Belgian selection as the composers behind Kate Ryans entry Je t�adore, tonight they have yet another chance on success.

Kipli is a hardrock group and their two entries tonight, Toinen minä and Katharsis, are songs that will follow their concept �Heavy rules�. Kilpi is inspiraded by the 80�s music and bands such as Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Halloween and Whitesnake. They are about to release their third full-length album. Kilpi consists of Taage (singer), Pete (guitar/backingvocal), Alba (guitar/backingvocal), Janne (bas/backingvocal), Kukkis (keyboard/backingvocal) and Juzzy (drums).

The televoting numbers of tonight's show can be found here. Voting is only possible calling from Finland. The show starts at 21:00 local time, the results will be presented around 22:15.

You can find the complete list of participants and the song's lyrics here in the Finland 2006 section (in running order!)

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!