Maltasong published 50 song titles

by Sietse Bakker 81 views

The Maltasong committee published the song titles of the 50 songs selected for the second round of Malta Song for Europe 2006. Six of them have been composed by Philip Vella, six have been written by Gerald James Borg. Ray Agius, Paul Giordimaina & Fleur Balzan did four, while John David Zammit, Paul Abela and editor Deo Grech all have three entries in the list.

Fabrizio Faniello, who represented Malta at the 2001 Eurovision Song Contest, wrote and composed one song with Aldo Spiteri. Claudette Pace, who represented Malta in 2000 with Desire, also wrote an entry. William Mangion, who represented Malta in 1993 with This Time wrote an entry too. Alfred Zammit who composed the Maltese entry for Lynn Chircop in 2003 To dream again is in too. So is, Miriam Christine, who represented Malta in 1996 with In a woman's heart. Belgian writer/composer Mark Paelinck also has one song in the list, surprisingly without his brother Dirk Pealinck. Norwegian composer Arve Furset made it to the second round of the Maltese national final too.

You can find the complete list here.

The 50 songs will proceed to a next round in which the performers of the songs have to sing their song live in front of a jury behind closed doors. This will be held on Saturday 17th December. The jury will then select the 16 finalists for Malta Song for Europe 2006. Singers are allowed to perform only 1 song in the finals. UKAM, the Maltese union of songwriters and singers, will be present during all phases of these selections.

213 enties reached the Maltasong committee. Malta Song for Europe 2006 takes place on 3rd and 4th February 2006.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!