UPD 'Big names' in Belgian national selection

by Sietse Bakker 155 views

After a disappointing result of Nuno Rensende, earlier this year in Kyiv, it's Flanders' turn to select a participant for the Eurovision Song Contest. 321 songs reached the Flemish public broadcaster, after a selection of 43 the final 28 were selected.

Four preselection rounds take place, with seven participants each. The top-three of each preselection round go to one of the two semifinals. After the four preselection rounds, the jury will pick two wildcards, one for each semifinal. This brings the total amount of participants in each semifinal on seven.

In the semifinals, the top-three of each heat goes to the final, together with, again, one wildcard from the jury. The final takes place on 19th February.

Preselection 1 (8th January)
� Afi – Not that beautiful
� Jeason – Dame amor dame vida
� Sonny O'Brien – I'll be there for you
� Alias – Hier sta ik
� Vanessa Chinitor – Beyond you
� Zenna – Someone is calling
� Katerine – Watch me move

Preselection 2 (15th January)
� Casa Creola – Easy esta noche
� Brahim – P.O.W.E.R.
� Tommy – The best time of my life
� Barbara Dex – Crazy
� Beatoxic – Feel like
� Els de Schepper – Als ik je morgen ergens tegenkom
� Roxane – Push it

Preselection 3 (22nd January)
� Valérie Mouton – I can't go on like this
� Kate Ryan – Je t'adore
� Kaye Styles – Profile
� Axel Devries – Alleen jij
� Laura D – History turning round
� Peter Evrard – Coward
� PIM – I'm your man

Preselection 4 (29th January)
� Kaden – In your heaven
� Ali vs. Laura – I belong to you belong to me
� La Sakhra – Wonderland
� Triskèl – I'll be there for you
� Belle Perez – El mundo bailando
� Eve Kempbel – Not right

Among the selected participants are several familiair faces. Vanessa Chinitor represented Belgium with Like the wind at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1999. Barbara Dex did the same in 1993 with Iemand als jij. Peter Evrard came third in World Idols. Belle Perez and Kate Ryan are the 'big names'; they are not only famous in Belgium, but also abroad.

UPDATE: Bart Peeters will host the shows of Eurosong 2006. The points will be given by six juries; a jury of professionals (1/6th), Radio 2 (1/6th), Radio Donna (1/6th), a press jury (1/6th) and the televoters (2/6th). A European jury is scheduled to be implemented in a later stage of the selection.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!