Congratulations hosted by Katrina & Renars

by Sietse Bakker 56 views

Katrina Leskanich and Renars Kaupers will host the 50th anniversary show Congratulations, which takes place on 22nd October in Copenhagen, Denmark. Host broadcaster DR confirmed that.

A wave…
Katrina Leskanich (with her band) won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1997, under the name Katrina & The Waves, with the song Love shine a light. Earlier this year, she participated in the Swedish national selection for the 2005 Eurovision Song Contest, but didn't make it to the final of Melodifestivalen.

… and a Brainstorm
Renars Kaupers is lead singer of the Latvian group BrainStorm, Latvia's first entry at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2000. With My star, the group came third and had a big hit in several countries. In 2003, when Latvia organized the Eurovision Song Contest, he hosted the show with 2002 winner Marie N.

No Danes?
With Katrina Leskanich and Renars Kaupers, host broadcaster DR choses for experienced names, as they both have Eurovision Song Contest stage experience. But why didn't DR chose Danes for the job? Søren Therkelsen, Commissioning Editor of the Eurovision Song Contest anniversary show, explained earlier; “DR does not see this 50th anniversary show as one with a specific national flavour but as a show that, in theory, could have been held anywhere in Europe. Denmark will not be in any kind of similar focus during this event. High priority is instead given to the concept, all the former participants and the most memorable golden moments. Therefore the host(s) doesn�t necessarily have to Danish”.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!