Norway celebrates Eurovision 50 years

by Alexander Borodin 89 views

Tonight, the Norwegian broadcaster (NRK) will air a special jubilee show in order to celebrate 50 years of the Eurovision Song Contest. A huge line-up of Norwegian and international stars will perform their Eurovision entries. Among the many guests are the Eurovision Song Contest winners; Helena Paparizou, Sandra Kim, Bobbysocks (pictured) and Brotherhood of Man.

NRK has invited a long list of former Eurovision participants for this special show. Melodi Grand Prix gjennom 50 år takes place as a part of the annual festival at Momarkedet. A total of 24 Norwegian and international artists throughout the history of the Eurovision Song Contest have been invited to perform their old entries.

At least five of the guests tonight are former winners of the Eurovision Song Contest, but there might be more former winners coming as surprise acts:

Helena Paparizou, Greece 2005
Secret Garden, Norway 1995
Sandra Kim, Belgium 1986
Bobbysocks, Norway 1985
Brotherhood of Man, United Kingdom 1976

Among the other artists performing tonight is this year�s Norwegian participant: Wig Wam. A lot of legendary Norwegian participants from the past will also appear, such as Jahn Teigen, Finn Kalvik and Kettil Stokkan, just to mention some of the names. As many artists are not known in advance, prepare yourself for many surprises!

The show Melodi Grand Prix gjennom 50 år is broadcast on Norwegian television channel One (NRK 1), tonight, Saturday August 20th, CET 21.15-22.30. The show is also broadcast online by NRK�s service Nett-TV. Click here for details (only in Norwegian), subscription is needed (free) in order to be able to see the show.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!