Ireland: Eurosong 2013 more details revealed

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 444 views

RTE, The Irish national broadcaster has revealed to esctoday more details regarding the 2013 Irish Eurovision national final, Eurosong 2013. A special photocall and meet and greet the press event was held today at RTE, Donybrook. was present at this photocall and we will be bringing you more details in due course.

The five acts competing to represent Ireland in this year’s Eurovision met for the first time today, Thursday 21February , on the set of The Late Late Show in RTÉ in Donnybrook. In alphabetical order the five acts are Aimee, Zoë Alexis Bohorquez, Ryan Dolan, Inchequin and Kasey.

The five songs will be performed live on The Late Late Show tomorrow night on RTÉ One from 22:35 CET. Aimée will perform her ballad Crashing Down accompanied by former Eurovision winner Paul Harrington (Ireland 1994) on piano. Zoë Alexis Bohorquez will perform her song Fire – former Eurovision entrant Donna McCaul (Ireland 2005) will perform backing vocals for Zoë. Ryan Dolan will perform his own composition Only Love Survives. Mentored by Shay Healy; Irish/Turkish band Inchequin will perform their song Son Kez/The Last Time. Kasey, mentored by Mairead Farrell, will perform Kiss Me.

Former Eurovision winners Lordi will perform Hard Rock Hallelujah during the show on Friday night. Lordi made history in 2006 by winning the Eurovision Song Contest with a then record 292 points, becoming the first Finnish performer to win the contest. Speaking ahead of the performance Mr Lordi said,  “It´s great to be here, it’s so nice to be in Ireland again. We were about to come to Ireland´s Eurovision competition last year, but our drummer Otus passed away just two weeks before that. Being here reminds us greatly of him.”

 The Eurosong discussion panel will consist of Marty Whelan, Bill Hughes and Evelyn O’Rourke.

Voting lines will be announced during the show. As was the case last year, Ireland’s Eurovision entry will be selected by a combination of public and regional jury vote. This year’s Eurovision will be held in Malmő, Sweden, in May, with Ireland competing in the first semi-final on Tuesday May 14th. The Eurovision final will take place on Saturday May 18th.

The songs will be performed in the following order on Friday night:


Singers                                   Mentor                        Song                                      Composers               

Inchequin                        Shay Healy                  Son Kez/The Last Time         Hugh O’ Neill, Sinead Bradley Arranged by Tevfik Kulak

Aimée                                      Mark McCabe          Crashing Down                      Robert Grace

Zoë Alexis Bohorquez      Niall Mooney           Fire                                     Lauren White, Niall Mooney, Willie Weeks

Ryan Dolan                      Stuart O’ Connor          Only Love Survives               Wez Devine, Ryan Dolan

Kasey                                      Mairead Farrell            Kiss Me                                  Drax

The  Competing songs:



Zoë Alexis Bohorquez

Ryan Dolan


The 2013 Irish national final will be held on Friday 22 February and will be aired live at 22.35 CET on RTE 1 and will be streamed on the official website of  the Eurovision Song Contest.

Ireland holds the record of winning the Eurovision Song Contest 7 times ( 1970,1980, 1987,1992,1993,1994 and 1996). The Emerald Isle also holds the record of  winning and hosting the Eurovision Song Contest 3 years in a row!

Stay tuned to for more information regarding the 2013 Irish national final.

Photographs: Courtesy of RTE


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!