Luxembourg: RTL will not return to Eurovision in 2021

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,736 views

RTL, Tele Letzebuerg, the Luxembourgish national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Luxembourg will not compete at the forthcoming 2021 Eurovision Song Contest in the Netherlands.

Much to the Eurovision fans’ dismay the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg will not return to our beloved competition next year either.

Thus Luxembourg joins Andorra  in the list of countries who have so far confirmed that they will not return to the competition in 2021.

The 5-time Eurovision champion nation withdrew from the contest in 1994 and has not returned since.

RTL stated to ESCToday that it currently concentrates on news features rather than music and entertainment shows. A Eurovision participation would entail a financial strain on the broadcaster, hence the country has no plans to return to the contest at the moment.

Luxembourg in Eurovision

Luxembourg debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 and is one of the founder members of the competition along with Italy, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Luxembourg  and Belgium. The landlocked country has won the contest on five occasions (1961, 1965, 1972, 1973 and 1983) and has partaken 37 times in the competition.

The duchy is well known for having sent many international artists to Eurovision;  Lara Fabian, Ireen Sheer, Baccara, Nana Mouskouri, Vicky Leandros, Anne Marie David, France Gall, etc.

The last time the country graced the Eurovision stage was back in 1993 when Modern Times flew the Luxembourgish flag in Millstreet with Donnez moi un chance de te dire.

The 2021 Eurovision Song Contest is set to be held on 18, 20 and 22 May at the Rotterdam Ahoy in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.