Estonia: ERR reveals the participants of Eesti Laul 2020!

by Stratos Agadellis 1,721 views

Off we go! On their way to Rotterdam, the Estonian broadcaster ERR is happy to… open up and announce the competitors of their national selection show Eesti Laul 2020, which will once again determine their Eurovision entry.

Newcomers and those who will again try to fly the Estonian flag on the Eurovision stage make up the list of the 24 participating entries of Eesti Laul, which is going to air come February. All of them will compete in one of two semi-finals, which will take place on 13 and 15 February in the city of Tartu, before we move to capital Tallinn for the Grand Final on 29 February. You can already purchase your tickets for Eesti Laul by clicking here.

Following a press conference, ERR has now unveiled the 24 acts that will appear in the two semi-finals, along with their song titles. Without further wait, it’s time we checked them out (in alphabetical order):

The complete line-up

  • Anett x FrediWrite about me
    Composers: Frederik Küüts, Anett Kulbin
  • Egert Milder – Georgia (On my mind)
    Composers: Kaspar Kalluste, Matteo Capreoli, Egert Milder
  • German & Violina – Heart winder
    Composers: Timo Vendt, Ebbe Ravn, Carine-Jessica Kostla, Liis-Marii Vendt
  • INGA – Right time
    Composers: Peter Põder, Allan Kasuk, Raul Krebs, Inga Tislar
  • IngerOnly dream
    Composers: Inger Fridolin, Karl-Ander Reismann
  • Jaagup TuiskBeautiful lie
    Composer: Jaagup Tuisk
  • JanetHingelind 
    Composers: Marek Rosenberg, Lauri Lembinen, Kadri Lepik, Janet Vavilov
  • Jennifer CohenPing pong
    Composers: Jennifer Cohen, Luisa Lõhmus
  • Kruuv – Leelo
    Composers: Allan Kasuk
  • Laura Break me
    Composers: Janne Hyöty, Jessica Hyöty, Laura Põldvere
  • Little MessWithout a reason 
    Composers: Ebbe Ravn, Timo Vendt, Mihkel Mattisen, Tanja Mihhailova-Saar
  • Mariliis JõgevaUnistustes
    Composers: Mariliis Jõgeva, Oliver Mazurtšak
  • Merilin MälkMiljon sammu
    Composers: Jonas Olsson, Teemu Jokinen, Jana Hallas, Merilin Mälk
  • Rasmus RändveeYoung
    Composers: Karl-Ander Reismann, Rasmus Rändvee
  • RenateVideomäng
    Composers: Renate Saluste
  • RevalsKirjutan romaani
    Composers: Jaanus Saago
  • SHIRAOut in space 
    Composers: SHIRA, Karl-Ander Reismann
  • StefanBy my side
    Composers: Karl-Ander Reismann, Stefan Airapetjan
  • Synne Valtri feat. VäliharfMajakad
    Composers: Synne Valtri, Jaanus Viskar, Toomas Laur, Gert Gregor Källo, Aapo Ilves
  • TrafficÜks kord veel
    Composers: Victor Crone, Fred Krieger, Vallo Kikas, Stig Rästa
  • Uku SuvistaWhat love is
    Composers: Uku Suviste, Sharon Vaughn
  • Uudo Sepp I’m sorry. I messed up
    Composers: Andrei Zevakin
  • Viinerid Kapa-Kohi. LA
    Composers: Peter Põder, Hardo Hansar, Martti Kask
  • Ziggy WildLean on me
    Composers: Laura Prits, Valdur Viiklepp, Sander Nõmmistu, Henri-Hannes Sell

Some of the returning artists…

As you may notice, the list above is full of names that have either previously represented the country in our favorite competition or will participate once again in the Estonian national selection event.

Laura has already taken to the Eurovision stage twice in the past; once as part of the group Suntribe in 2005 and then along with Koit Toome and the song Verona. Unfortunately, she didn’t make it to the finals on both occasions. Moreover, last year’s Eesti Laul winner Victor Crone will be returning to the competition, this time as a composer, in the same entry with the 2015 Estonian entrant Stig Rästa.

Stefan, who came 3rd in Eesti Laul 2019, will be aiming even higher in 2020, with By my side.


Estonia in Eurovision 2019

For the 11th time in a row, Estonia used their annual national selection mechanism Eesti Laul in order to pick their act for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest, which was held in Tel Aviv, Israel. Winning the event was the Swedish musician Victor Crone, who lives and works in the Baltic country in the last few years.

Victor achieved a 2nd consecutive qualification to the Grand Final for Estonia, while he reached the 20th place of the scoreboard, scoring 76 points overall.

The 65th Eurovision Song Contest will be taking place in Rotterdam, The Netherlands on 12, 14 and 16 May 2020.

Who do you think will succeed him and open up in Rotterdam next May?