Eurovision 2020: EBU releases official list of participating countries

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 4,012 views

It’s sealed! A total of 41 countries are set to compete at the forthcoming 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam. The EBU has released the official list of the 2020 ESC participating countries.

35 countries will compete in the 2 semi-finals scheduled to be held on 12 and 14 May. A total of 26 countries will compete in the grand final on 16 May.

The Big 5 countries (Spain, United Kingdom, France, Italy and Germany) + host country (The Netherlands) are automatically qualified to compete in the grand final. Hence 20/35 countries will proceed from the semi-finals to the grand final and join the Big 5 and The Netherlands.

The Semi-final Allocation Draw and Host Insignia Handover Ceremony is set to be held in Rotterdam on 28 January.

Mr.Jon Ola Sand (Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor – EBU) says:

We can’t wait to “open up” to participants from 41 countries in Rotterdam next year. We are thrilled that so many public broadcasters will be presenting their nation’s best musical talent as we celebrate the 65th Eurovision Song Contest.

The team from NPO, NOS and AVROTROS have 3 fantastic state-of-the-art shows planned and the excitement around the event in the Netherlands is incredible

Participating countries

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belarus
  7. Belgium
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Croatia
  10. Cyprus
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Estonia
  14. Finland
  15. France
  16. FYR Macedonia
  17. Germany
  18. Georgia
  19. Greece
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Israel
  23. Italy
  24. Latvia
  25. Lithuania
  26. Malta
  27. Moldova
  28. The Netherlands
  29. Norway
  30. Poland
  31. Portugal
  32. Romania
  33. Russia
  34. San Marino
  35. Serbia
  36. Slovenia
  37. Spain
  38. Sweden
  39. Switzerland
  40. Ukraine
  41. United Kingdom

Hungary and Montenegro have withdrawn from next  year’s competition, whilst Ukraine and Bulgaria are back in the game after a year’s absence.

The 2020 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 12, 14 and 16 of May at the Rotterdam Ahoy in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.