Cyprus: CyBC confirms participation in Eurovision 2020

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 4,018 views

CyBC, the Cypriot national broadcaster, has cofirmed to ESCToday that Cyprus will participate at the forthcoming 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in the Netherlands.

Thus Cyprus will join the list of countries who have so far confirmed their participation at the 65th Eurovision Song Contest in Holland next year.

We understand that CyBC will more than likely opt for an internal selection in order to determine its Eurovsion hopeful and entry for 2020 as has been the case in recent years. Internal selections have proven to be both successful and fruitful for Aphrodite’s island taking into account Eleni Foureira and Tamta‘s results in the competition.

It is still a mystery who will Cyprus send to the Netherlands next year? Will it be a another big name in the Greek and Cypriot music industry?

We will have to wait a little longer for that as more details regarding the 2020 Cypriot Eurovision project will be unveiled in the coming months.

Cyprus in Eurovision

Cyprus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1981 and is yet to win the event. The Mediterrranean island achieved its best result in the competition in 2018 when it placed 2nd with Eleni Foureira‘s epic entry Fuego.

Aphrodite’s island has been represented by some of the biggest names in the Greek and Cypriot music industry: Anna Vissi (1982), Michalis Hatzigiannis (1998), Evridiki (1992,1994,2007), Ivi Adamou (2012), Despina Olympiou (2013), Eleni Foureira ( 2018), Tamta (2019) etc

Cyprus has partaken 36 times in the competition.

In 2019 Cyprus opted for an internal selection and selected Tamta to fly the Cypriot flag at the Eurovision Song Contest. Tamta achieved a 13th place in the Grand Final with her entry Replay.