Eurovision 2020: Five cities officially submit bidbooks to NPO

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,659 views

Ladies and gentlemen, the battle for the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest has officially kicked off in the Netherlands. A total of 5 cities have officially submitted their respective bid books in their quest to hold the 65th Eurovision Song Contest on home soil.

Delegations from Rotterdam, Amsterdam, Den Bosch and Arnhem travelled to Hilversum earlier today in order to officially hand in their proposals to NPO’s chairman Ms.Shula Rijxman. Utrecht didn’t send a delegation to Hilversum’s Mediapark but had its bid delievered via courier.

The Mayor or Councilor from each city handed his/her official bid to NPO after a short presentation.

  • Maastricht (MECC Maastricht)
  • Rotterdam (Ahoy Rotterdam)
  • Arnhem (Gelredome)
  • Utrecht (Jaarbeurs)
  • Den Bosch (Brabanthallen)

Now the 2020 Eurovision Organizing body consisting of NPO, NOS and AVROTROS will evaluate all submitted bids and see which ones meet the conditions set by the EBU. Hereafter officials the 2020 Eurovision team will visit the candidate cities in order to check their the premises, venues and infrastructure.

The annoucement of the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest is expected to take place in August.

The 2020 Eurovision Song Contest will be co-produced by NOS, AVROTROS and NPO.