Montenegro: Montevizija 2019 to be held on 9 February

by Stratos Agadellis 420 views

The 2019 national finals calendar is getting enriched, this time with the announcement of Montenegro’s national selection event Montevizija date. We will find out the Montenegrin entrant to Eurovision 2019 on 9 February!

This year sees a total of 5 qualified acts compete for the victory and Montenegro’s ticket to Eurovision. These 5 entries were announced last week, with the country’s 2019 Eurovision hopeful Andrea Demirović being among them. But let’s take a look at them again:

  1. Nina Petković – Uzmi ili ostavi
    Music: Bojan Momčilović and Zoran Radonjić
    Lyrics: Nina Petković
  2. Monika Knezović – Nepogrješiva
    Music: Vladimir Graić-Graja and Ivan Branisavljević
    Lyrics: Snežana Vukomanović
  3. D-Moll – Ti
    Music: Dejan Božović
    Lyrics: Aleksandar Miličić
  4. Ivana Popović-Martinović – Nevinost
    Music: Slavko Milovanović, Vladan Popović-Popa and Marko Milatović
    Lyrics: Ivana Popović-Martinović
  5. Andrea Demirović – Ja sam ti san
    Music: Andrea Demirović, Michael James Down and Primož Poglajen
    Lyrics: Andrea Demirović

Montenegro at Eurovision 2018

The country of former Yugoslavia entered the Eurovision house as a sovereign state in 2007 and has missed two contests since (2010, 2011). Montenegro struggled to qualify to the Grand Final for the first time, as they did 7 seven years after their debut, in 2014. The best result for the Balkan nation so far is a 13th place, achieved by Knez in 2015.

In 2018, RTCG decided to bring back a national selection format and organized the newly-introduced Montevizija competition. It was won by Vanja Radovanović, who subsequently represented the country in Lisbon. With his song Inje, he was eliminated in the second semi-final, coming 16th with 40 points.

The 64th Eurovision Song Contest will be taking place on 14, 16 and 18 May 2018 at the EXPO Convention Center in Tel Aviv, Israel. As announced by the EBU and the host broadcaster KAN, the contest’s slogan is going to be “Dare to Dream“.