United Kingdom: BBC appoints Andrew Cartmell as Head of Delegation

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,902 views

The British national broadcaster, BBC, has appointed Andrew Cartmell as the UK’s Head of Delegation at the Eurovision Song Contest. He will taking over from Helen Riddell who left her job at the BBC in order to pursue a career as a free-lance producer.

Andrew Cartmell is the Executive Producer for BBC Studios and Entertainment. He will be serving as the UK’s Head of Delegation at the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv. He will also be responsible for the BBC’s Eurovision broadcast from Israel along with Lee Smithhurst (BBC Series Producer) and Rachel Ashdown (BBC Commissioning Editor). Rachel joined the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group earlier this year.

Andrew has attended the Eurovision Song Contest several times as he’s been part of the UK’s delegation in the competition.

The 2o19 Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final will be broadcast live on BBC One and BBC Radio 2 whilst the semifinals will be broadcast live on BBC Four.

2019 will see the UK’s 62nd Eurovision participation.

The United Kingdom in Eurovision

The United Kingdom debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and has won the competition five times (1967, 1969, 1975, 1981, 199). The country has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 61 times and has enjoyed great succes in Europe’s favorite television show. The UK hold the record of being the country who has placed 2nd the most times in the competition, namely 15 times.

Many big names have flown the British flag at the Eurovision Song Contest: Sandie Shaw, Olivia Newton John, Lulu, Buckz Fizz, Brotherhod of Man, Cliff Richard, Clodagh Rogers, Mary Hopkin, Michael Ball, Sonia, Gina G, Bonny Tyler etc.

In 2018 the United Kingdom selected its Eurovision act and entry via a national final. SuRie was crowned the winner of the British national final and won the golden ticket to Lisbon with her entry Storm.