Eurovision 2018: FYR Macedonia wins the Barbara Dex Award 2018!

by Jessica Weaver 8,112 views

The worst dressed act of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest has been crowned: Eye Cue from FYR Macedonia has been voted the winner of the Barbara Dex Award 2018!

Voting opened for the Barbara Dex Award 2018 a day after the Grand Final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, in which a total of 43 artists competed on the Lisbon stage with hopes of bringing victory to their representative country.

From the 43 artists, viewers were asked to vote for who they believed was the worst dressed artist of the 2018 competition via, with the artist receiving the highest total of votes being crowned the winner of the 22nd Barbara Dex Award.

A clear winner in 2018!

Straight from the opening of the voting, it was clear that only one act could possibly be crowned the winner of the 2018 award, that winner being FYR Macedonia who was represented by Eye Cue.

FYR Macedonia became a highly discussed country at the 2018 competition for a number of reasons, one of which being the lead singer’s outfit choice onstage.

Marija Ivanovska’s outfit consisted on pink jacket worn back-to-front, with a pair of silver shorts being visible underneath the stand-out pink. Mid-performance, the pink dress was removed to reveal a silver sparkly top, with a knitted pattern to top it off.

Meanwhile, Bojan Trajkovski wore white t-shirt with a black broken-ground pattern, however it was Marija’s outfit which was the stand-out of the event.

FYR Macedonia in the first semi-final of Eurovision 2018

Barbara Dex Award 2018: Top 5

Whilst FYR Macedonia is the winner of the 22nd award, let’s have a look at the runner-ups of this year’s award:

  1. FYR Macedonia (Eye Cue)
  2. Australia (Jessica Mauboy)
  3. Belgium (Sennek)
  4. Montenegro (Vanja Radovanović)
  5. Israel (Netta)

This is FYR Macedonia’s second win at the Barbara Dex Award, having previously won the award in 2005 with Martin Vučić and his unusual choice of suit…

Rewatch FYR Macedonia’s performance in 2005

Congratulations to the winner of the 2018 Barbara Dex Award! Do you agree with this year’s winner?