Spain: Some facts about the bidding songwriters

by Victor Hondal 78 views

Earlier today, the Spanish broadcaster RTVE made public the titles of the 20 songs aiming to represent the Iberian country this year in Düsseldorf. We bring you some facts concerning the composers and songwriters behind the participating entries.

The 2011 Spanish selection for Eurovision features a number of well-known faces to Eurofans. Both Spanish and foreign composers have applied to represent Spain with their entries. Rafael Artesero, who composed La reina de la noche in 2007, among many other songs, is back this year with no less than three songs: Only break my heart?, Teasing you and Weeping for you. He also was responsible for the 2005 and 2006 Andorran entries.

The composer of last year's Spanish entry, Jesús Cañadilla, applies this year as well. He will be competing with a couple of songs – Eos and Eres tan cool -teaming up with Alejandro de Pinedo, another familiar name in the Spanish selections for the Eurovision Song Contest.

Among the names in the list published earlier today by RTVE we can also find Mikel Herzog, 1998 Spanish representative and 2007 juror. He participates with the song Eres todo lo que quiero, composed and penned by himself.

Amaya Martínez, one half of the former group Andermay, who were behind the 2003 Spanish entry Dime, is responsible for the lyrics of Sueño y sueñas.

It has to be mentioned the notable amount of foreign composers who have shown interest in the Spanish process. Seven of them are Swedes. Thomas G:Son, responsible for the 2007 Spanish entry I love you mi vida together with Tony Sánchez-Ohlsson, is participating with Abrázate a mi corazón. Gerard James Borg, Malta's Mr Eurovision, has also written one of the competing entries, Golden Cadillac.

Susie Päivärinta, of the duo Lili & Susie, participated in Melodifestivalen 2009 and bids for Spain with two entries: C'est la vie! It's alright! and Diamonds.

Other known names from outside Spain are Christina Schilling from Denmark, who composed Someday for Hera Björk, the 2009 Irish entry Et cetera, and Tonight for Kafka and Ruta in the Lithuanian selection last year, besides the song for Nikki Kavanagh in this year's Irish selection.

Jonas Gladnikoff cooperated with Christina Schilling in the entries mentioned above, besides composing Niamh Kavanagh's It's for you and several other entries across Europe. He is also present in Portugal this year with Tensão.

And a special mention to's Primoz Poglajen. Born in Slovenia but residing in Spain, Primoz is trying his luck in the Spanish selection with Away, teaming up with Jonas Gladnikoff, Camilla Gottschalckand Christina Schilling.

The first semifinal of the 2011 Spanish selection will take place on January 28th in Barcelona.