Portugal: RTP reveals FdC 2018 jury; including Luisa Sobral and Sara Tavares

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 683 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 2018 Festival da Cançao jury members. The announcement took place today during a special press conference at Lisbon’s Hub Criativo do Beato.

RTP is in full steam these days with 2 grand events lined up in their calendar; Festival da Cançao (FdC) 2018 and the 63rd Eurovision Song Contest.

Today saw the official announcement of the 2018 FdC participating candidates during a special conference, where many details regarding the upcoming Portuguese national selection were unveiled, including the names of the hosts and the jury panel.

The 2018 Festival da Cançao special jury will consist of 9 members and will be chaired by Julio Isidro, whilst 2 familiar Eurovision faces will be joining the panel: Luisa Sobral, the composer of the 2017 Eurovision entry, and Sara Tavares (Portugal 1994).

The special jury will play a key role in selecting the 14 finalists who will go to the Grand Final of FdC 2018. The combined vote of the jury and public televoting will determine the 14 lucky hopefuls who will battle for the golden ticket to Lisbon. 7 acts from each semi-final will proceed to the Grand Finale.

  • Júlio Isidro (chairperson of jury)
  • Ana Bacalhau (singer)
  • Carlão (singer)
  • Luísa Sobral (singer/Portugal 2017)
  • Sara Tavares (singer/Portugal 1994)
  • Ana Markl (radio host)
  • Mário Lopes (journalist)
  • Tozé Brito (composer)
  • António Avelar Pinho  (composer)

Festival da Cançao Voting System

  • FdC semi-finals: 50/50 special jury-televoting deliberation
  • FdC Grand Finale: 50/50 regional jury/televoting deliberation

Festival da Cançao 2018

The 2018 edition of Festival da Cançao (FdC) will consist of 3 shows which will be aired on 18, 25 February (semi-finals) and 4 March (Grand Final).

The first 2 shows of FdC 2018 will be held at the RTP studios in Lisbon, whilst the grand final will be travelling outside the Portuguese capital, namely to Guimarães.

We will be heading to the north of Portugal in order to select the 2018 Eurovision hopeful who will follow Salvador Sobral’s footsteps.

A total of 26 acts will participate in the forthcoming 2018 Portuguese national selection Festival da Cançao 2018. A total of 6 hosts will be hosting the 3 shows including the charming 2018 Eurovision hostess Filomena Cautela who will co-host the Grand Finale with Pedro Fernandes.

Festival da Cançao 2018 agenda

  • 18/02: Semi-final 1 (13 participants, 7 finalists)
  • 25/02: Semi-final 2 (13 participants, 7 finalists)
  • 04/03: Final (14 finalists, 50/50 combined vote to deliberate winner)

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 8, 10 and 12 May at the Altice Arena in Lisbon, Portugal