Germany: Lena's debut album released on 7th May

by Marcus Klier 66 views

Lena Meyer-Landrut's debut album My cassette player will be released on 7th May. The CD features 13 songs including the German entry in the Eurovision Song Contest 2010, Satellite. Unlike the single, the album will be released under her first name Lena only.

Besides Satellite, the album includes the two other songs performed by Lena Meyer-Landrut in the German national final, Bee and Love me, which both reached the top five in the German single charts. Furthermore, the album includes two cover versions of songs performed during the national selection Unser Star für Oslo: My same (originally by Adele) and Mr. Curiosity (originally by Jason Mraz), which both entered the German single charts in their original versions after being performed on the show. The complete track listing is as follows:

  1. Satellite
  2. My cassette player
  3. Not following
  4. I like to bang my head
  5. My same
  6. Caterpillar in the rain
  7. Love me
  8. Touch a new day
  9. Bee
  10. You can't stop me
  11. Mr. Curiosity
  12. I just want to kiss
  13. Wonderful dreaming

A deluxe edition of the album featuring a DVD will also be available. Due to strong pre-sales, the deluxe edition and the regular edition are already at number four and number fifteen respectively in the sales charts.

Meanwhile, it has been reported that Satellite is eligible to be certified platinum due to sales exceeding 300,000. The song was on top of the German single charts for five consecutive weeks making it the biggest hit of the year so far. Furthermore, it sold more downloads within a week than any other song ever (150,000). Some sources reported that this record has already been broken again by the winning single of the latest Pop Idol season, but this has turned out to be untrue. The song Don't believe, written and produced by Dieter Bohlen, who also wrote the German Eurovision Song Contest entry in 1989 and the Austrian entries in 1989 and 1992, sold only about 90,000 downloads within a week.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!