Switzerland: Six finalists unveiled for Die Entscheidungsshow

by Jessica Weaver 1,521 views

The bidding Swiss artists are out! Switzerland’s national broadcasters – SRF, RTS, RSI and RTR – have unveiled the names of the 6 acts in the running to represent the nation at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

It’s been a long process in Switzerland in order to determine their potential artists for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, the search of which started way back in July 2017.

With the national final confirmed to take place on the 4 February, the Swiss national broadcasters soon after opened applications for its national selection process, going on to receive an impressive total of 670 entries.

Six finalists revealed

With SRF confirming that 6 finalists would be selected last month, today the broadcaster has unveiled the names of the bidding artists set to compete for the right to represent Switzerland at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

The artists will compete in the following running order next month:

  1. ZibbzStones
  2. Angie OttA thousand times
  3. NaemanKiss me
  4. Chiara DubeySecrets and lies
  5. Alejandro ReyesCompass
  6. Vanessa IraciRedlights

Former bidding Swiss acts, Chiara Dubey and Angie Ott, are set to return to this year’s national final.

Which of the Swiss finalists for Eurovision 2018 are your favourites? Let us know by voting in our poll below!

Selection by 20-member panel

As was confirmed previously, the 2018 Swiss finalists were determined via a 20-member jury panel, consisting of music and media professionals, spectators and Eurovision fans. The jury members were as follows:

  • Alain Pfammatter: Senior manager/Health consultant
  • Alizée Oswald: Singer known as Alioze
  • Angela Grande: Market researcher
  • Bettina Bendiner: Journalist
  • Barbara Berta: Eurovision 1997 representative
  • Cedric Cassimo: Artist
  • Denise Vogel: Production coordinator
  • Florian Tusi: Service specialist
  • Gian-Andri Paganini: PH student
  • Igor Asner: Marketing manager
  • Iris Moné: Singer and vocal coach
  • Laurent Pavia: Head of Music, Society and Culture at RTS
  • Léonard Gogniat: Singer from the group Carrousel
  • Michel Imhof: Journalist
  • Pascal Marchev: Webmaster
  • Peter Reber: Musician
  • Renato Delcò: Student
  • Severin Marfurt: Medical student
  • Susanne Egloff: Property lawyer
  • Tanya Gavrancic: Music promoter

Die Entscheidungsshow will air on the 4 February and will be hosted by Sven Epiney at the Zürich TV studio, with Stefan Büsser set to report from backstage.

The winner of the Swiss national final will be determined via a combined 50/50 public and jury vote, who will then go on to represent Switzerland at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in the host city of Lisbon.