Ireland sends Niamh Kavanagh to Eurovision

by . . 141 views

The Irish national final to determine the country's representative at this year's Eurovision Song Contest was held tonight. Five acts were competing and eventually it was decided that Niamh Kavanagh will represent Ireland in Oslo with the song It's for you written by Niall Mooney, Marten Eriksson, Lina Eriksson & Jonas Gladnikoff.

Niamh Kavanagh has already won the Eurovision Song Contest 1993 for Ireland with the song In your eyes. Niall Mooney and Jonas Gladnikoff also co-wrote Et cetera, the Irish entry in the Eurovision Song Contest 2009.

Complete results

Televote Total
1 Niamh Kavanagh 12 12 12 12 12 12 72 144
2 Michael Graham 8 10 8 8 10 6 60 120
3 Monika Ivkic 10 8 10 4 8 10 48 98
4 Leanne Moore 6 6 6 10 6 8 36 78
5 Lee Bradshaw 4 4 4 6 4 4 24 50

Niamh Kavanagh, Ireland, Eurosong 2010 © Gavin Murray

Purchase the song

The song"It's for you" is now available to purchase (€0.95) on download here. poll results

The poll voters agreed with the choice: Niamh Kavanagh was the runaway poll winner with 63.9% of the votes. national final awards 2010

The 2010 National Final Awards will be held between April and May, which means between the national final season and the Eurovision Song Contest. We will repeat the same format with two rounds for nominations which was used this year – you can read how it works here. However, this time the individual polls for each country will always be held right after the national final, when the entries are still fresh. You can vote for your favourite performance not to qualify in the Irish national final here and for your favourite song not to qualify here.

Niam Kavanagh will compete for Ireland in the second half of the second semi final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2010, to be held on May 27th.

The winning performance in the Irish national final 2010:

Niamh Kavanagh winning for Ireland in 1993:

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!