San Marino: National selection jury members revealed

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,372 views

San Marino is working round the clock and is all set to make its 2018 Eurovision national selection both exciting and interesting. The members of the jury panel have been confirmed with 2 big Eurovision names in the line up.

Earlier this week, San Marino revealed its strategy and mechanism for Eurovision 2018 and disclosed more details on its innovative digital Eurovision national selection for Lisbon.

The Jury

1 in 360 has confirmed the jury members for the 2018 San Marino national selection.

  • Måns Zelmerlöw (Sweden 2015)
  • Zoë Straub (Austria 2016)
  • Dave Berry

Måns Zelmerlöw is well known in the Eurovision community as he won the the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna, thus bringing victory to Sweden for the 6th time. The multi-talented Swede also co-hosted the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm with Petra Mede.

Måns shot to fame in Sweden and Europe when he competed in the Swedish Eurovision national final Melodifestivalen with Cara mia in 2007. He went on to participate in Melodifestivalen in 2009 and 2015 when lady luck was on his side when he won the golden ticket to Vienna with his entry Heroes.

Zoë Straub represented Austria at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm with her entry Loin d’ici. The Austrian Eurovision hopeful also competed in the 2015 Austrian national final with Quel filou, thus missing out on representing Austria on home soil.

Dave Berry is a well known British radio DJ and TV host.

San Marino in Eurovision

San Marino debuted in Eurovision in 2008 and is yet to win the event. The country has only qualified once to the Grand Final, namely in 2014 with Valentina Monetta’s Maybe. Valentina Monetta represented the country 3 years in a row (2012, 2013 & 2014).

In 2017, Valentina Monetta returned to the contest for the 4th time and flew the Sammarinese flag in Kyiv with Jimmie Wilson. Despite a fabulous performance the duo failed to qualify to the Grand Final with their disco beat Spirit of the night.

2018 will see San Marino’s 9th Eurovision participation, the landlocked country has opted to select its Eurovision act via digital national selection.

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 8, 10 and 12 May in Lisbon, Portugal.