Malta: PBS confirms 16 finalists for MESC 2018

by Jessica Weaver 1,227 views

The shortlist is complete! The Maltese national broadcaster, PBS, has released the final shortlisted 16 acts set to compete in the country’s forthcoming national final, MESC 2018.

Having previously released an initial longlist of 30 entries for the competition, Maltese national broadcaster PBS has revealed that a total of 16 artists are set to compete in the upcoming national final for the nation, Malta Eurovision Song Contest (MESC).

The final 16 songs were shortlisted over a course of 3 days, in which each bidding artist auditioned in front of a jury panel consisting of 7 foreign judges.

MESC 2018 finalists

The 16 acts set to compete in MESC 2018 are as follows:

  1. AidanDai laga
  2. Avenue SkyWe can run
  3. Brooke BorgHeart of gold
  4. Christabelle BorgTaboo
  5. Danica MuscatOne step at a time
  6. Deborah CTurn it up
  7. Eleanor CassarBack to like
  8. Jasmine AbelaSupernovas
  9. Lawrence GrayLove renegade
  10. Matthew AnthonyCall 2morrow
  11. Mikhail Attard & Cherylis CamilleriBreaking point
  12. Miriana ConteRocket
  13. PetraEvolution
  14. Rhiannon MicallefBeyond blue horizons
  15. Richard & Joe MicallefSong for dad
  16. Tiziana CallejaFirst time

Several former Maltese national selection participants feature in the nation’s upcoming final, including 2017 MESC participants Deborah C, Miriana Conte and Brooke Borg.

The Maltese national final for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is set to take place in February 2018, the winner of which set to be determined via a 100% televote.

Who will follow in Claudia Faniello’s steps and become the next Maltese Eurovision representative?