100% jury vote to decide Azerbaijani representative

by Victor Hondal 59 views

Azeri Press Agency APA recently held an interview with the Azerbaijani Head of Delegation, Adil Karimli. The Ictimai TV official stated that the country's representative for Eurovision 2010 will be decided by 100% jury vote. As already reported, the country will hold its Eurovision semifinal on February 2nd at the Buta Palace, in Baku.

“To show that we attach great importance to the Eurovision Song Contest, we have decided to hold a grand semifinal. The jury will again select the representative; there will be no televoting or internet poll. There are no commercial interests, our only aim is to select a decent singer to represent Azerbaijan", Adil Karimli said.

Azerbaijan's Head of Delegation also commented on the "big creative effort" that the Ictimai TV staff are putting in: “The creative staff are doing their best for February 2nd. I think this concert will not lag behind the Eurovision 2010. It would not be right to repeat the last year’s performance", Karimli assured.

The Azerbaijani jury will comprise once again of ITV Director, General Ismayil Omarov; rector of Baku Music Academy named after Uzeyir Hajibayli, Farhad Badalbayli; executive director of Friends of Azerbaijan Culture Foundation, Ibrahim Guliyev; president of Azerbaijan national music committee of the International Music Council,Lala Kazimova; director of Azerbaijan State Philharmonic Society, Murad Adigozalzadeh; representative of Culture and Tourism Ministry, Manzar Nuraliyeva; and representative of Youth and Sport Ministry Farhad Hajiyev. The same jury members chose the 2008 and 2009 Azerbaijani representatives.

It is also planned to sell tickets for the semifinal, where a total of 6 candidates will compete for the honour of representing Azerbaijan in Oslo: Safura Alizadeh, Maryam Shabanova, Milk&Kisses group, Azad Shabanov, Elli and Ulviyya Rahimova.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!