Eurovision 2017: National juries announced by the EBU

by Stratos Agadellis 1,507 views

The European Broadcasting Union announced today the names of the expert jurors of all 42 participating countries, as it does ahead of the Eurovision Song Contest since 2014.

How the juries affect the result?

The jurors will rate the Eurovision entries in the 3 live shows and their results will have a 50% stake at the final outcome. The other 50% is coming from the public, of course.

Each national jury consists of 5 members which are considered as music experts in their countries. The juries attend and award their points during the dress rehearsal a few hours before each of the 3 live shows. You can check out the list with the names of the jurors here.

Austria has not completed its final list of jurors, but we will soon known all 5 names.

Amongst the names of the judges, there are several  past Eurovision participants. These are:

  • Kobi Oshrat (Israeli conductor 1979, 1985, 1987, 1991, 1992)
  • Nicole (Germany 1982)
  • Daniela Simmons (Switzerland 1986)
  • Darja Švajger (Slovenia 1995, 1999)
  • Chiara (Malta 1998, 2005, 2009)
  • Tal Sondak (Israel 2001)
  • David Civera (Spain 2001)
  • Luminita Anghel (Romania 2005)
  • Mihai Traistariu (Romania 2006)
  • Olta Boka (Albania 2008)
  • Getter Jaani (Estonia 2011)
  • Magdalena Til (Poland 2011)
  • Zoë (Austria 2016)

The 62nd Eurovision Song Contest is taking place on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine.