Norway: Song titles and songwriters announced

by Marcus Klier 90 views

Norwegian broadcaster NRK has announced the titles and writers of the 21 songs competing in the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest national final MGP. Familiar names can be found on the list.

The songs and songwriters are:

1. The touch, music & lyrics: Rolf Løvland

Rolf Løvland is a very familiar name to the Eurovision Song Contest. He wrote the 1985 Norwegian entry La det swinge as well as the 1995 winning song Nocturne. He is also the man behind the 1987 entry Mitt liv, which he co-wrote with Hanne Krogh (finishing ninth) and behind the 1994 entry Duett (lyrics by Hans Olav Mørk, finishing sixth). He also served as a conductor in 1992 and 1993.

2. Tokyo night, music & lyrics: Aggie Peterson

Aggie Peterson is a singer of the electronic band Frost. She is a MGP newcomer.

3. Don't want to lose you again, music & lyrics: Ben Adams, Mark Read, Christian Ingebrigtsen, David Eriksen

David Eriksen is a successful songwriter and producer. He co-wrote the 1998 Norwegian entry, which finished eighth in Birmingham and he also wrote the music of the 2009 MGP runner-up song Butterflies. Christian Ingebrigtsen took part as a composer in MGP on three previous occasions, most recently in 2009 with the song Sweeter than a kiss, which was eliminated in the first semi final. With Ben Adams and Mark Read, he is part of the group A1.

4. Rewind love, music & lyrics: Julian Berntzen

Julian Berntzen won Spellemannsprisen in 2003 as best newcomer. He writes and arranges all of his songs by himself, and it is likely that he will also perform his song in MGP 2009.

5. Life is here today, music & lyrics: Arne Hovda

Arne Hovda is part of the band The Gateway People, which is based in Stavanger. His song Crying finished eleventh in MGP 2004.

6. My heart is yours, music & lyrics: Hanne Sørvaag & Fredrik Kempe

Hanne Sørvaag co-wrote the 2008 German entry Disappear, which finished 23rd and hence equal last in Belgrade. She took part with two songs in MGP 2008: Tricky and Do it again. Fredrik Kempe is known for his frequent participations in Swedish Melodifestivalen. His songs Hero and La voix represented Sweden in 2008 and 2009 finishing 18th and 21st respectively.

7. Don't stop, music & lyrics Mariann Thomassen & Lars Erik Westby

Mariann Thomassen competed in MGP 2009 with her band Surferosa but did not make it to the final. She co-wrote the song with Lars Erik Westby, who also co-wrote U look good last year.

8. I'll take you high, music & lyrics: Mira Craig

Norwegian-American singer-songwriter Mira Craig is the woman behind the 2008 Norwegian entry Hold on be strong, which finished fifth. She writes and produces all her songs by herself.

9. Be good to me, music & lyrics: Tommy LaVerdi & Peter Ställmark

Tommy LaVerdi is a successful songwriter in Norway, probably best known for the song Chasing rainbows, which was a number one hit in 2003.

10. Make my day, music & lyrics: Merethe LaVerdi

Merethe LaVerdi is a MGP newcomer. She is working as a manager for different artists.

11. Jealous couse I love you, music: Laila Samuelsen, Alexander Kronlund og Lucas Hilbert, lyrics: Laila Samuelsen, Alexander Kronlund

Laila Samuelsen became famous as a member of the girlgroup The Tuesdays. She wrote Sweeter than a kiss with Christian Ingebrigtsen last year.

12. European girl, music: Matias Tellez, lyrics: Håkon Njøten & Axel Vindenes

The songwriters, who are from Bergen, are all newcomers to the MGP.

13. Primadonna, music: Lene Alexandra Øien og Jarl Aanestad, Lene Alexandra Øien, Jarl Aanestad og Simon Walker

Lene Alexandra took part in MGP 2008 with her song Sillycone Valley but did not make it to the final despite extensive media coverage. This is the first time she is taking part as a songwriter.

14. Synk eller svøm (Sink or swim), music & lyrics: Gaute Ormåsen, Laila Samuelsen & Kim Bergseth

This is obviously the only entry to be performed in Norwegian. It was written by Laila Samuelsen (see above), former Idol contestant Gaute Ormåsen and Kim Bergseth.

15. Rocketfuel, music & lyrics: Elisabeth Carew & Thomas Eriksen

Elisabeth Carew is from Lørenskog and she had her debut as a pop artist only in 2008.

16. The best of me is you, music & lyrics: Heine Totland, Hans Petter Aaserud & Arne Hovda

Heine Totland is currently starring in the ABBA musical Mamma Mia!. Hans Petter Aaserud co-wrote the song Carrie in MGP 2009.

17. Barracs on the hill, music: Fred Endresen, lyrics: Olaf Øwre

Fred Endresen competed with his band Publiners in MGP 2009 and finished 4th in the final after qualifying through the second chance round.

18. The Dragontower, music: Arnt Obsidian Grønbech, lyrics: Arnt Obsidian Grønbech, Torbjørn Schei, Vegar Larsen og Robin Isaksen

The men behind this song are working as songwriters and producers for the Morningstar Studio in Trondheim. They produced songs for various local bands but also film music and music for TV commercials.

19. Give it to me, music & lyrics: Alexander Stenerud

This is the third year running that Alexander Stenerud takes part in MGP. In 2008, he competed as a singer with his band Zuma and did not make it to the final but in 2009, he competed as a solo artist and finished third in the final. He wrote the songs on both occasions.

20. Yes man, music & lyrics: Simone Larsen, Simen Eriksrud & Bjørn Johan Muri

Simone Larsen, whos is a member of D'Sound, and Simen Eriksund returns to MGP as sogwriters having already competed in 2009 with the song Seven secnds. Performed by Ovi, it was one of the few songs that reached the Norwegian single charts before the final was held.

21. Million Dollar Baby, music & lyrics: Robin Nordahl, Frode Andersen & Gerard James Borg

All three songwriters are familiar to the contest. Robin Nordahl's compositions I'm in love and Party competed in MGP 2008 and 2009 respectively. Frode Andersen competed in 2008 and his song Far away, performed by King of Trolls, finished third in the final. Gerard James Borg has written the lyrics to five Maltese entries in the Eurovision Song Contest (2000, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008) but he is also known for his numerous national final submissions all over Europe. Songs written by him have taken part in Belgium, Bulgaria, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway and Romania. In Malta, he wrote more than 20 national final entries.

The performers of the 21 songs are yet to be confirmed. MGP 2010 will be held over five shows:

  • 1st semi final: 8th January, Ørland
  • 2nd semi final: 16th January, Bodø
  • 3rd semi final: 23rd January, Skien
  • Siste sjansen: 30th January, Sarpsborg
  • Final: 6th February, Oslo

Norway won the Eurovision Song Contest in 2009 and is therefore directly qualified for the grand final of the 2010 edition being the host country.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!