Sweden: SVT reveals the International Jury for Melodifestivalen

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 3,287 views

SVT, the Swedish national broadcaster has announced the names of the 11 members of the 2017 Melodifestivalen International Jury.

A total of 11 countries will play a key role in deliberating the 2017 Swedish Eurovision entry for Kyiv. The winner of Melodifestivalen will be determined via a 50/50 International Jury/ public televoting deliberation.

The International Juries score will be presented live by each country’s respective spokesperson before the viewer’s results announcement. Thus building the suspense until the last minute, it will be the viewer’s results which will determine Melodifestivalen’s final outcome.

The countries on the International Juries Pannel vary from year to year and their selection depends on several things, but the goal is to find a good mix of countries representing the entire European cultural taste.

Christer Björkman adds:

We are trying to find a balance between the different parts to get the winner. It should be a song that breaks through in all areas.

New countries are invited to be part of the jury every year, this year it is Czech Republic’s turn to debut. There are always returning countries on the jury and we must not forget that the ESC Host Country is also invited to partake. This year Norway is the only Scandinavian country on the International Jury pannel.

Christer comments:

We know that we do not need as many of our northern neighbors because their taste is relatively similar to ours.

 The International Jury for Melodifestivalen 2017

  • Armenia – Iveta Mukuchyan (Eurovision 2016)
  • Australia – Stephanie Werret (Head of Delegation/SBS/ Blink TV)
  • UK – Simon Proctor
  • France – Edoardo Grassi (Head of Delegation/ France 2)
  • Israel – Tali Eshkoli
  • Italy – Nicola Caligiore (Head of Delegation/Rai)
  • Malta – Gordon Bonello
  • Norway – Anette Lauenborg Waaler
  • Poland – Mateusz Grzesinski
  • Czech Republic – Jan Bors (Head of Delegation/CT)
  • Ukraine – Victoria Romanova ( Head of Delegation/NTU)

The 2017 Melodifestivalen  Grand Final is scheduled to be held on 11 March at the Friends Arena in Stockholm, Sweden.

The  Scandinavian country will participate in the first half of the first semi-final on 9 May. The 62nd Eurovision Song Contest is going to take place on  9, 11 and 13 May 2017 at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine