Norway: Here are the Melodi Grand Prix 2017 acts

by Jessica Weaver 727 views

The acts are now known! The Melodi Grand Prix participants set to compete for the right to represent Norway at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest have been revealed this morning by the country’s national broadcaster, NRK.

In total, 10 acts will compete in the Norwegian national final for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest, Melodi Grand Prix (MGP), for the right to represent their country in the host city of Kyiv this coming May.

Submissions opened back in June 2016 and remained open over the summer period, with NRK receiving a record-breaking total of 1,035 entries. MGP’s Executive Producer Jan Fredrik Karlsen revealed that songs of different genres would be shortlisted for the national final.

Melodi Grand Prix 2017 entries

Watch the short introduction videos including snippets of each bidding entry via NRK’s official MGP site.

  • AmmunitionWrecking crew (Åge Sten Nilsen, Erik Mårtensson)
  • UlrikkePlaces (Ulrikke Brandstorp, Tony Alexander Skjevik)
  • Amina SewaliMesterverk (Amina Sewali)
  • JOWSTGrab the moment (Joakim With Steens)
  • Kristian ValenYou & I (Kristian Valen)
  • Elin & The WoodsFirst step in faith/Oadjebasvuhtii (Robin Lynch, Elin Kåven)
  • Jenny AugustaI go where you go (Jenny Augusta, Inga Þyri Þórðardóttir)
  • EllaMamma boy (Per Kristian Ottestad, Ida Maria)
  • Rune Rudberg BandRun run away (Peter Danielson, Åsa, Mars Larsson)
  • In FusionNothing ever knocked us over (Gustav Euren, Danne Atlerud, Niklas Arn, Ulrik Eurén, Cissi Kallin)

The MGP 2017 entries will be revealed in full on the 15 February.

The 2017 line-up sees the return of one former Eurovision representative; Åge Sten Nilsen, frontman of Ammunition, previously competed at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2005 as the lead singer of Wig Wam.

Melodi Grand Prix 2017

Hosted by Line Elvsåshagen and Kåre Magnus Bergh, MGP 2017 will take place live from the Oslo Spektrum on the 11 March, the winner of which will represent Norway in the second half of semi-final 2 on the 11 May at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

In changes which were made to the selection with the aim of improving Norway’s chances at the Eurovision Song Contest, an international jury will be present at the final of the event consisting of 10-12 members who will, along with the public televote, help to determine the country’s 2017 representative.

As usual, 4 acts will qualify from the first round MGP to the Gold Final of the competition following the combined votes from both the public and international jury, however the winner of the Gold Final will be determined 100% via a public televote.