Armenia: From 12 to 6 Depi Evratesil acts

by Jessica Weaver 1,211 views

A final round of battles take place in tonight’s Depi Evratesil in which 12 participants are shortlisted to 6, but who will we see in the next stage of the competition?

With 2 weeks of battles over and a final battle remaining, tonight saw the remaining 12 Depi Evratesil acts compete once again for a place in the next stage of the selection.

Unlike previous battles, in which qualifiers were decided by all 6 members of the jury panel, tonight’s battle winners were determined purely via the head of each team. Whose journey to the Eurovision 2017 stage continues after tonight’s show?

Depi Evratesil 6 qualifiers

  • Iveta Mukuchyan: Vahe Aleksanyan
  • Inga Arshakyan: Syuzanna Melqonyan
  • Hayko: Egine
  • Essaï Altounian: Artsvik
  • Aram MP3: Lucy
  • Anush Arshakyan: Marta

National selection format

Depi Evratesil began in October and will run up until December, consisting of 4 different stages in total. The Armenian representative will be determined in December, with the winner of the national selection being decided via a combined SMS vote and jury deliberation.

Although the artist will be decided in December, it is currently unknown how the Armenian song entry for the competition will be selected. More details are expected in the coming months.

AMPTV has decided to opt for a national selection in order to select Armenia’s act for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest, the last time being in 2013.

The nation has received successful results over the years since their Eurovision debut in 2006, placing in the top 10 of the Grand Final a total of 7 times to date.