Tonight – Spain: National final

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 164 views

RTVE, the Spanish natioanal broadcaster, will be holding the third semifinal of the Spanish Eurovision national final along with the second chance and grand final tonight. The show will be aired live on TVE1 and TVE International at 22:45 CET. There will be a live webcast available on TVE's official Eurovision website. Ten candidates will be competing in their quest to qualify for the final Spanish Eurovision national final. Three more candidates will qualify for the grand final. A total of ten candidates will compete at the Spanish Eurovision national final.


A webcast will become available hereat 22:45 CET.

The Show

Thethird semifinal along with the grand final of Eurovision 2009, El Retorno will be held tonight at the Teatro-Casino L’Aliança de Poble Nouin Barcelona. Alaska and Miguel Serrano will be the hosts of the show. A total of ten candidates will be battling each another in other in order to qualify for the grand final. TVE, the national Spanish broadcaster has worked hardto preparing tonight's show, which is expected to be entertaining and full of surprises.

The following artists wil be competing in tonight's semifinal:Santa Fe, Mirela, El secreto de Álex, Julia Bermejo, Biquini, Dulce, Isi, Beatriz, Remembrances andSolydo.

The topthree candidates with the highest results will qualify for the grand final. A 50/50 Jury and Televoting deliberation will decide whichthree candidates pass to the final.The 4th placed candidate will join Gran Baobab and Salva Ortega to compete at the Second Chance Eliminatory, where one of them will qualify to the grand final. A 50/50 Jury and Televoting deliberation will decidewho willtonight's Spanish Eurovision 2009 national final, and thus representSpain in Moscow.

The topthree candidates from the 1st and 2nd semifinals who have secured a place in the grand final are: Melody (Amante de la luna), La La Love You (Dame un beso), Noelia Cano (Cruza los dedos), Soraya (La noche es para mí), Virginia (True love)and Jorge González (Si yo vengo a enamorarte).

Jose Luis Urribari, Toni Garrido, Mauro Canut, Victor Escudero and Mariola Orellana are the members of the expert jury. Carlos Baute, Nancy Rubias and Chipper will be the patrons of third semifinal and will be performing the Israeli Eurovision winning entries, which have enjoyed major success on Spanish soil: A-ba-ni-bi (Israel 1978), Hallelujah (Israel 1979)and Diva (Israel 1998).

You can watch thethird Semifinal and final of Eurovision 2009, El Retorno live at 22:45 CET on TVE 1 and TVE International (via satellite).

Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani

Head of International Relations & Communications

Sanjay (Sergio) joined in December 2006 as an editor. He was appointed as the Head of Press of in 2011. Hereafter in 2016 he was promoted as the Head of International Relations & Communications at ESCToday. Sergio has covered the Eurovision Song Contest live 19 times since 2000, having worked for several international magazines and media outlets.