Cyprus: Eurovision stars back in the studio

by Eleanor Cooper 995 views

Former Cypriot Eurovision stars are back in the studio to record a song for the opening act the Madame Figaro awards.

Christina Argyri and Sophia Patsalides will join Stefani Simeonidou to record a song written especially for the event. Christina Argyri represented Cyprus, as part of a duo, in 2000 in Stockholm with the song Nomiza. They finished in 21st place. Sophia Patsalides represented Cyprus in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014, and finished in 9th place with her song I pio omorfi mera. Stefani Simeonidou is a young Cypriot singer who was a runner-up in a children’s talent show called The Musical Kids.

The song will be produced by Efthivoulos Theocharous, who composed Maria Elena Kyriakou’s 2015 entry One last breath for Greece. The songwriters are Andreas Anastasiou, the writer of Cyprus’ 2011 Eurovision entry, and Stavros Stavrou, the lyricist of Sophia Patsalides Junior Eurovision song, I pio omorfi mera.

The song will be part of the opening ceremony for the annual Madame Figaro Awards. The stage director and choreographer will be Fokas Evangelinos. Mr Evangelinos is also no stranger to the Eurovision Song Contest, having directed and choreographed nine different Eurovision performances for five different nations. He was the creative director for the entire contest when it was held in Athens in 2006, and has overseen many Greek national finals.

His Eurovision career started in 2004 when he directed Sakis Rouvas’ 3rd placing Shake it. Evagelinos then went on to direct the performances of Greece’s 2005 winner, Russia in 2006, Belarus in 2007, the gold and silver placing Russia and Ukraine in 2008, Greece in 2009, Azerbaijan in 2013 and Russia in 2014. Fokas Evagelinos will also oversee the choreography and stage direction for this year’s Russian entry, Sergey Lazarev with You are the only one.

The 2016 Madame Figaro Awards will take place in Nicosia on the 14th April at the Strovolos Municipal Theatre, and will be broadcast live by SigmaTV. Eurovision veteran Sakis Rouvas, who represented Greece in 2004 and 2009 and hosted the contest in 2006, will host the event.

Cyprus will be represented by MinusOne with the song Alter Ego in the Eurovision Song Contest 2016.