Denmark: DMGP 2016 songs revealed

by Pete Lewis 253 views

DR, the Danish national broadcaster, has revealed the ten songs that will compete in the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2016.

The original announcement was meant to be made on 28 January, but following a leak on Spotify the broadcaster has chosen to make an official announcement this afternoon.

Just under 1000 songs were submitted to the Danish broadcaster, a record for the competition, but they’ve now been whittled down to a shortlist of ten.

Amongst the ten competing acts includes Anja Nissen. She won the third series of The Voice of Australia in 2014.

Also in the final is Simone who is making her third attempt at representing Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest. In her most recent attempt, she finished third in DMGP 2013 behind eventual Eurovision Song Contest winner Emmelie de Forest.
In her other previous appearance in the Danish national final she also finished third.

The acts

  • David JayRays of sunlight
  • SimoneHeart shaped hole
  • BraceletBreakaway
  • Sophia NohrBlue horizon
  • Veronicas IllusionThe wrong kind 
  • Lighthouse XSoldiers of love
  • Kristel LisbergWho needs a heart
  • JessicaBreak it good
  • Muri & MarioTo stjerner
  • Anja Nissen Never alone

The final of DMGP 2016 will take place on 13 February.

Last year, Anti-social media won DMGP and represented their country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2015.
They failed to take Denmark to the final for the first time since 2007 after their song The way you are placed 13th in the semi-final.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for all the latest news from Denmark and the Eurovision Song Contest!