Tonight: first semi final in Iceland

by Marcus Klier 49 views

Another country will kick off its televised selection for the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest tonight as the first semi final will be held in Iceland. Four acts will present their Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins entries with the aim to reach the national final.

Iceland: RUV Live (available worldwide) click here!

The show

Four acts will present one song each. The top two will be chosen to move forward to the national final on 14th February, when eight acts will compete to be the 22nd Icelandic representative in the Eurovision Song Contest. The show will start at 21:10 CET (20:10 local time) and it will be broadcast on RÚV.


The webcast will be available worldwide on this article at 21:10 CET (20:10 local time)


Composer/lyricist in brackets:

  1. Adgar Smári AtlasonThe kiss we never kissed (Heimir Sindrason/Ari Harðarson)
  2. Heiða ÓlafsdóttirDagur nýr (Halldór Guðjónsson/Íris Kristinsdóttir)
  3. Jóhanna Guðrún JónsdóttirIs it true (Óskar Páll Sveinsson)
  4. Ólöf Jara SkagfjörðHugur minn fylgir þér (Valgeir Skagfjörð)

In 2008, Iceland was represent by Euroband. The duo finishedeighth in the second semi final and 14th in the final with their entry This is my life.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!