awards: Composer and lyricist results

by Marcus Klier 65 views

The polls for the third annual awards closed at midnight CET and now it is time to reveal the results, which are traditionally made public on Christmas Eve, 24th December. We continue with the categories Composer of the year and Lyricist of the year.

The 2008 award for Composer of the year goes to…

  • ANDREJ BABIC for the Portuguese entrySenhora do mar

This is the second award this year for the Portuguese entry following the victory in the Song of the year category. Andrej Babic is no stranger to the Eurovision Song Contest as he has already composed the Croatian entry in 2003 (Više nisam tvoja, 15th place), the Bosnia & Herzegovinian entry in 2005 (Call me, 14th place) and the Slovene entry in 2007 (Cvet z juga, 15th place). This award previously went to Zeljko Joksimovic in 2006 for the entry from Bosnia& Herzegovinaand Magdi Rúzsa from Hungary in 2007.

The complete results:

  1. Andrej BabiÄ�for the Portuguese entrySenhora do mar – 28.0%
  2. Dana International for the Israeli entry The fire in your eyes – 23.7%
  3. Mira Craigfor the Norwegian entryHold on be strong – 22.9%
  4. Philip Kirkorovfor the Ukrainian entryShady lady – 12.9%
  5. Sébastien Tellier for the French entry Divine – 12.5%

You can watch the performance of the song by the Composer of the year below:

The 2008 award for Lyricist of the year goes to…

Mira Craig wrote the song Hold on be strong when she was a teenager. Like most Nordic entries in the Eurovision Song Contest, it was performed in English in Belgrade. From the perspective of a parent, a child is told to never give up in life and love depsite disppointments, because there is always someone waiting out there. The Norwegian entry finished fifth in the final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2008.

The complete results:

  1. Mira Craig for the Norwegian entry Hold on be strong– 38.9%
  2. Dana International & Shay Kerem for the Israeli entry The fire in your eyes– 24.6%
  3. Dejan IvanoviÄ� for the Serbian entry Oro– 17.4%
  4. Kerem Kabadayı, Harun Tekin, Burak Güven &Kerem ÖzyeÄ�en for the Turkish entry Deli– 12.5%
  5. Andreea Andrei & Adina Å�uteu for the Romanian entry Pe-o margine de lume– 6.6%

Watch a video with the karaoke version ofthe song by the Lyricist of the year below:

More results will be revealed throughout the day. Stay tuned!

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!