Sweden: Melodifestivalen 2016 acts revealed

by Jessica Weaver 437 views

It’s that time of year where the Swedish national broadcaster, SVT, releases the names of the acts selected to participate in the upcoming Swedish national selection, Melodifestivalen.

Earlier this year, it was revealed that a total of 2450 songs were submitted to the national broadcaster in which 28 would move forward to the Melodifestivalen semi-finals which will take place in February.

One of Melodifestivalen 2016 acts was already decided back in September when the Swedish trio Smajling Swedes were chosen to participate in the national selection after competing in the Svensktoppen Nästa contest.

The 2016 Melodifestivalen participants are as follows:

Semi-final 1

  • Mimi WernerAin’t no good (Mimi Werner, Göran Werner, Marcus Svedin, Jason Saenz)
  • Samir & ViktorBada nakna (Fredrik Kempe, David Kreuger, Anderz Wrethov)
  • Robin BengtssonConstellation price (Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström, Mark Hole, Martin Eriksson)
  • Ace WilderDon’t worry (Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad, Ace Wilder )
  • Anna BookHimmel för två (Sven-Inge Sjöberg, Lennart Wastesson, Larry Forsberg, Camilla Läckberg)
  • Pernilla AnderssonMitt guld (Pernilla Andersson, Fredrik Rönnqvist )
  • Albin & Mattias AndréassonRik (Albin Johnsén, Mattias Andréasson)

Semi-final 2

  • Victor & Natten100% (Dag Lundberg, Melker, Jesper Lundh)
  • Krista SiegfridsFaller (Krista Siegfrids, Gabriel Alares, Magnus Wallin, Gustaf Svenungsson)
  • Molly Pettersson HammarHunger (Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad, Molly Pettersson Hammar)
  • Patrik Isaksson, Tommy Nilsson & Uno SveningssonHåll mitt hjärta (Patrik Isaksson, Tommy Nilsson, Uno Svenningsson)
  • IsaI will wait (Anton Hård af Segerstad, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Nikki Flores)
  • WiktoriaSave me (Jens Siverstedt, Lauren Dyson, Jonas Wallin)
  • David LindgrenWe are your tomorrow (Anderz Wrethov, Sharon Vaughn, Gustav Efraimsson)

Semi-final 3

  • Oscar ZiaHuman (Oscar Zia, Victor Thell, Maria Smith)
  • SarahaKizunguzungu (Anderz Wrethov, Sara ”SaRaha” Larsson, Arash Labaf)
  • After DarkKom ut som en stjärna (Sven-Inge Sjöberg, Lennart Wastesson, Larry Forsberg, Lina Eriksson, Kent Olsson, Calle Kindbom)
  • Lisa AjaxMy heart wants me dead (Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad)
  • Boris RenéPut your love on me (Boris René, Tobias Lundgren, Tim Larsson)
  • Smilo – Weight of the world (Arvid Ångström, Dennis Babic, Oscar Berglund Juhola, Anton Göransson, Robin Danielsson)
  • Swingfly feat. Helena GutarraYou carved your name (Jocke Åhlund, Andreas Kleerup)

Semi-final 4

  • Martin StenmarckDu tar mig tillbaks (David Stenmarck)
  • PanetozHåll om mig hart (Jimmy Jansson, Karl-Ola Kjellholm, Jakke Erixson, Pa Modou Badjie, Njol Badjie, Nebeyu Baheru)
  • FransIf I were sorry (Oscar Fogelström, Michael Saxell, Fredrik Andersson, Frans Jeppsson Wall)
  • Linda BengtzingKiller girl (Mattias Kallenberger, Andreas Berlin, Linda Bengtzing, Dag Öhrlund)
  • Dolly StyleRollercoaster (Thomas G:son, Peter Boström, Alexandra Salomonsson)
  • EclipseRunaways (Erik Mårtensson)
  • Molly SandénYouniverse (Molly Sandén, Danny Saucedo, John Alexis)

Composers are listed in brackets.

Out of the 28 participants, 18 are returning artists including Finland’s 2013 Eurovision representative, Krista Siegfrids. A total of 4 songs were composed with Anton Malmberg Hård af Segerstad, Joy Deb and Linnea Deb, the writers of the winning 2015 Eurovision entry, Heroes.

As with last year, Melodifestivalen 2016 will consist of 6 live shows; 4 semi-finals, the second chance round (Andra Chansen) and the grand final.

Each of the 4 semi-finals will include 7 participants; the top 2 from each semi-final will qualify to the grand final whilst the acts in 3rd and 4th place will move forward to the second chance round.

Four artists from the second chance round will qualify to the grand final, meaning that a total of 12 artists will be competing to represent the host nation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.

Melodifestivalen 2016 dates

  • 06/02: Semi-final 1 (Gothenburg, Scandinavium)
  • 13/02: Semi-final 2 (Malmö, Malmö Arena)
  • 20/02: Semi-final 3 (Norrköping, Himmelstalundshallen)
  • 27/02: Semi-final 4 (Gävle, Gavlerinken Arena)
  • 05/03: Second chance round (Halmstad, Halmstad Arena)
  • 12/03: Grand final (Stockholm, Friends Arena)

The 2016 Melodifesitvalen selection will be hosted by Gina Dirawi who will be accompanied by a number of different co-hosts for each of the shows.

Stay tuned to esctoday.com for the latest news on Melodifestivalen 2016, Sweden and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!