Ireland: songs and running order confirmed

by Benny Royston 81 views

The six songs that will participate in a national final to represent Ireland at the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest have been confirmed. The comedy character, Dustin the Turkey will participate for the ticket to Belgrade as Ireland goes back to a multi-singer national final.

The six songs and running order are:

  1. Double Cross My HeartDonal Skehan (Joel Humlen, Oscar Gorres and Charlie Mason)
  2. Irelande Douze PointsDustin The Turkey (Darren Smith, Simon Fine and Dustin The Turkey)
  3. Time to RiseMaya (Maja Slatinsek and Ziga Pirnat)
  4. Not Crazy After AllLeona (Leona Daly and Steve Booker)
  5. SometimesLiam Geddes (Susan Hewitt)
  6. ChancesMarc Roberts (Marc Roberts)

A spokesperson for the broadcaster explained “The judging panel was delighted with the standard of the entries and each and every one of these six acts would do us proud on the Eurovision stage. Best of luck to all of the finalists. It’s now up to the public to decide who will represent us in Belgrade in May.”

The judging panel that selected the songs includes singer/songwriter Eleanor McEvoy, former Eurovision winning singer/songwriter Charlie McGettigan (Ireland 1994), showbiz agent/choreographer Julian Benson and RTÉ’s Julian Vignoles.

The national final will take place on February 23rd and will be hosted by Ray D'Acry live at the University Concert Hall in Limmerick. The public will select the song using a mix of televote and SMS.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!