Portugal: Festival da Cançao 2018 Semi-final Allocation Draw results

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 771 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster held a special draw in order to allocate the 26 competing composers in one of the 2 semi-finals scheduled to be held on 18 and 25 February in Lisbon.

A total of 26 composers will participate in the forthcoming 2018 Portuguese national selection Festival da Cançao 2018 (FdC 2018). Each composer will be selecting the singer/singers to sing his/her own entry in the Portuguese national selection.

Here are the results of today’s Festival da Cançao Semi-final Allocation Draw:

18/02: Semi-final 1

  • Benjamim
  • Diogo Clemente
  • Fernando Tordo
  • Jorge Palma
  • José Cid
  • JP Simões
  • Júlio Resende
  • Mallu Magalhães
  • Francisca Cortesão
  • Nuno Rafael
  • Paulo Praça
  • Janeiro
  • Rita Dias

25/02: Semi-final 2

  • Aline Frazão
  • Armando Teixeira
  • Bruno Cardoso
  • Capicua
  • Daniela Onís
  • Diogo Piçarra
  • Francisco Rebelo
  • Isaura
  • João Afonso
  • Miguel Ângelo
  • Paulo Flores
  • Peter Serrado
  • Tito Paris

The Semi-final Allocation Draw

Mr. Gonçalo Madaíl (RTP) and Mr. Júlio Isidro (president of the jury) conducted the draw, where the names of the composers whose songs will participate in the semi-finals of FdC 2018 were distributed in one of the two semi-finals scheduled to be held in Lisbon on 18 and 25 February.

The exact order of appearance of the entries in each show is yet to be determined by RTP.

Festival da Cançao 2018

The 2018 edition of Festival da Cançao (FdC) will consist of 3 shows which will be aired on 18, 25 February (semi-finals) and 4 March (Grand Final).

The first 2 shows of FdC 2018 will be held at the RTP studios in Lisbon whilst the grand final will be travelling outside the Portuguese capital, namely to Guimarães. We will be heading to the north of Portugal in order to select the 2018 Eurovision hopeful who will follow Salvador Sobral’s footsteps.

  • 18/02/2018: Semi-final 1 (13 participants, 7 qualifiers)
  • 25/02/2018: Semi-final 2 (13 participants, 7 qualifiers)
  • 04/03/2018: Final (14 finalists, 50/50 combined vote to determine winner)

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 8, 10 and 12 May at the Altice Arena in Lisbon, Portugal.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!