Watch now: Third heat of Melodifestivalen 2016

by Fiona Galliford 313 views

Calling all Melodifestivalen fans! We have reached heat three, and Saturday 20 February 2016 sees the event move to the Himmelstalundshallen in the city of Norrköping. Who will shine in Sweden tonight? Don’t miss a minute of the action with ESCToday…

About the show

An SVT production, the hugely popular and internationally acclaimed Melodifestivalen is used to determine Sweden’s representative at the Eurovision Song Contest. Tonight’s heat will be presented by Gina Dirawi and Henrik Schyffert.

Tonight’s participants are as follows:

  1. SaRaha – Kizunguzungu
  2. Swingfly feat. Helena Gutarra – You carved your name
  3. SMILO Weight of the world
  4. After Dark – Kom ut som en stjärna
  5. Lisa Ajax – My heart wants me dead
  6. Boris René – Put your love on me
  7. Oscar Zia – Human

After Dark (2004, 2007), Swingfly (2011) and Oscar Zia (2014) return to the Melodifestivalen stage having previously participated in the competition.

The two highest scoring acts of tonight’s heat will qualify directly to the Grand Final of Melodifestivalen 2016, which will take place at the Friends Arena in Stockholm on Saturday 12 March. The acts placing third and fourth will proceed to the Andra Chansen (Second Chance) round at the Halmstad Arena in Halmstad on Saturday 5 March.

How to watch


The show will air at 20:00 CET on the following channels:


Follow Melodifestivalen via Facebook, TwitterInstagram, Periscope and check out the official website at

Melodifestivalen Agenda

Who will follow in the triumphant footsteps of last year’s winner Måns Zelmerlöw, who took his winning entry Heroes to Eurovision Song Contest glory? Who will represent Sweden at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest on home territory in Stockholm?

Stay tuned to for all the latest news on Melodifestivalen and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest!

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!