Meldodifestivalen: First artists announced

by Benny Royston 85 views

Today, SVT has released the names of the seven songs chosen by the jury for the Melodifestivalen 2008 semi finals in Göteborg and Vasteras. Seven of the eight competing acts for each are known, they will be joined by a wildcard entry for each semi final to be announced next month. The artists for the third and fourth semi finals will be announced tomorrow.

The semi finalists for the first two weeks of the show are as follows:

9th February 2008 – Semi Final 1 – Gothenborg

  1. Face-84Alla gamla x
    Composers: Lars ”Dille” Diedricson, Martin Hedström, Wille Crafoord
  2. VelvetDeja vû
    Composers: Niclas Molinder, Joacim Persson, Pelle Ankarberg, Niko Valsamidis, Fredrik Larsson, David Jassy
  3. Christer SjögrenI Love Europe
    Composers – Torgny Söderberg, Magnus Johansson, Ingela ”Pling” Forsman
  4. E-type & the Poodles Line Of Fire
    Composers: Jakob Samuelsson, Martin Eriksson
  5. BrandurLullaby
    Composers: Henrik Wikström (m), Kristian Lagerström (t)
  6. Michael MichailoffThat’s Love
    Composers: Michael Michailoff, Joakim Orramius, Patric Jonsson
  7. Suzzie TapperVisst finns mirakel
    Composers: Amir Aly, Maciel Numhauser, Robin Abrahamsson, Bobby Ljunggren, Suzzie Tapper

16th February 2008 – Semi Final 2 – Västerås

  1. Alexander Schöld – Den första svalan
    Composers: Fredrik Thomander, Anders Wikström, Ingela ”Pling” Forsman
  2. Lasse LindhDu behöver aldrig mer vara rädd
    Composer: Lasse Lindh
  3. Sanna NielsenEmpty Room
    Composers: Bobby Ljunggren, Aleena Gibson
  4. RongedalJust A Minute
    Composers: Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström, Magnus Rongedal, Henrik Rongedal
  5. Andra GenerationenKebabpizza Slivovitza
    Composers: Vlatko Ancevski, Vlatko Gicarevski, Mats Nilsson, Stevan Tomulevski, TeddyPaunkoski, Otis Sandsjö
  6. OlaLove In Stereo
    Composers: Tony Nilsson, Mirja Breitholtz
  7. The NicoleRazborka
    Composers: Nicole Fuentes, Tord Bäckström, Stefan Åberg

In the first semi final, the bug name that jump out is Christer Sjögren, lead singer of Sweden's most successful Danceband (a folk/country genre), Vikingarna. This marks his first appearance in Sweden's permier music competition in over 30 years of performing. The return of 2006 semi finalist and former Melodifestivalen choirgirl, Velvet is also highly anticipated. Her previous entry Mi amore became a smash club hit in Sweden and Israel.

The return of E-type and The Poodles will also be of high interest to dance and rock fans as well as Melodifestivalen and Eurovision Song Contest fans. Their collaboration is eagerly anticipated and promises to be something very different to what has been seen from either act in the past. Suzzie Tapper is the lead singer from the popular 80s band Suzzie's Orchestra. She still has many fans in Sweden and will be highly regarded.

The second semi final sees the return of Sanna Nielsen. This is the first time that the 2005 and 2007 finalist has competed at Melodifestivalen with a song in English. Former pop-idol and heart-throb Ola makes his Melodifestivalen debut in Västerås. Rongedal is a cross between Right Said Fred and Mika and may do well. The much talked about Kebabpizza Slivovitza will be performed by a band made up of second generation swedes, Andra Generationen.

CDON are currently offering discounts on Melodifestivalen 2007 CD and DVD as well as the 50 years DVDs.