The Netherlands: The Common Linnets release deluxe album and Christmas single

by Roy Knoops 178 views

Today, 14 November 2014, marks the release of a special deluxe version of The Common Linnets’ self-titled debut album.After their success at this years’ Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen, Denmark, the country-bluegrass ensamble from The Netherlands decided to release a deluxe album featuring five acoustic versions of their songs, plus an extra new Christmas single.

The extra songs can be found as a bonus CD on the deluxe edition of their album, but the six songs can also be bought as a separate EP, and through iTunes.

The extra CD and EP feature acoustic versions of five songs, including The Common Linnets’ Eurovision hit Calm After The Storm. The other songs are Broken But Home, Time Has No Mercy, Hungry Hands and Still Loving After You. Their new Christmas single is called Christmas Around Me.

The Common Linnets are a pure country, bluegrass and folk initiative centered around popular Dutch artist Ilse DeLange. Together with singer Waylon, Ilse and The Common Linnets represented The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark with the song Calm After The Storm.

Winning the first semi-final, the group eventually earned the second place in the grand final, with a total of 238 points. Although Waylon decided to pusue his solo-career after Eurovision, The Common Linnets continue to have massive success across Europe.

To celebrate their success, the band embarked on an autumn tour through various European cities, and have now released a deluxe version of their debut album, plus a Christmas single. Besides Ilse DeLange, The Common Linnets consist of JB Meijers, Jake Etheridge, Rob Crosby and Matthew Crosby.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for the latest on The Common Linnets, The Netherlands and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!