Cyprus: Antri Karantoni to host Cypriot national selection

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,138 views

CyBC, the Cypriot national broadcaster has confirmed to Esctoday that Ms Antri Karontini will host the 2015 Cypriot national selection.

The Cypriot broadcaster has selected Antri Karontini to present the 10 televised shows of the 2015 Cypriot national selection, scheduled to kick off on 7 December.

Antri Karantoni is a well known Cypriot model and television host. She is very excited to host the forthcoming 2015 Eurovision national selection.

 Last month CyBC revealed the names of the 60 hopefuls that will compete at the forthcoming 2015 Cypriot Eurovision national final. The broadcaster has also revealed the format of the national selection process: 60 acts will be presented in the 7 televised auditions.  The 60 acts will then be shortlisted to 20 acts who will proceed to the next 2 televised shows- The Eurochallenge Phase. Finally the top 6 acts will compete in the grand final for the golden ticket to Vienna.

The Cypriot broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that a total of 9 televised auditions will be aired leading up to the 2015 Cypriot Eurovision national final which is scheduled to be held on 1 February in Nicosia. Hence the 2015 Cypriot Eurovision national selection will consist of 10 televised shows (9 televised auditions and 1 grand final). The 2015 Cypriot entry will be selected via a 50/50 jury-televoting deliberation.

The Cyprus 2015 National Selection Format.

  • 7 Televised Auditions- Presentation of 60 acts
  • 2 Eurochallenge Televised Shows- 20 acts
  • 1 Grand National Final- 6 acts

Christer Bjorkman (Sweden 1992, Head of Delegation- Sweden- SVT,  Melofestivalen (producer, Eurovision Song Contest 2013 producer), Dimitris Kontopoulos (composer/producer of various Eurovision entries: Greece 2009, Ukraine 2008, Russia 2014, Azerbaijan 2013) and Bruno Berberes (former Head of Delegation-France, executive producer The Voice France) have been invited by the Cypriot broadcaster to join the 2015 Cypriot national selection special  jury pannel: Alex Panayi (Cyprus 1995, 2000), Despina Olympiou (Cyprus 2013), Elena Patroklou (Cyprus 1991) and Tasos Trifonos.

Christer Bjorkman and Dimitris Kontopoulos will join the jury during the the Eurochallenge Phase shows of the national selection: during the Eurochallenge 1 Show the jury will shorlist 10/20 entries. Hereafter during the Eurochallenge Show 2 the jury will yet again make its deliberation and select the 6 lucky acts that will battle for the golden ticket to Vienna in the grand final.

Bruno Berberes will join the jury during the grand final of the 2015 Cypriot national selection on 1 February and will help the jury select the 2015 Cypriot Eurovision entry and representative.

Cyprus will be back in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015 after a year’s absence from the event in 2014. Cyprus decided to withdraw from the competition this year due to financial reasons.

Cyprus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1981 with Island’s Monika and is yet to win Europe’s favourite television show. The Mediterranean island’s best placing at the contest has been a 5th placing in 1982, 1997, and 2004.

The last time Cyprus competed in the competion was in 2013 when Despina Olympiou represented Cyprus at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest with her entry An me thimase, failing to qualify to the final.

Stay tuned to for the latest information on Cyprus, the 2015 Cypriot Eurovision national selection and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest!