The Netherlands: AvroTros confirms participation in Eurovision 2015

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 4,448 views

Dutch broadcaster AvroTros has confirmed to that The Netherlands will participate at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Austria in 2015.

Thus The Netherlands becomes the 11th country to confirm its participation at the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest scheduled to be held in Austria next year. Hence The Netherlands joins Austria, Switzerland, Sweden, Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Ireland, Germany, Finland and Estonia in the list of the countries that have confirmed their participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest.

In 2014 The Netherlands opted for an internal selection in order to select its Eurovision representative and entry. The Common Linnets (Ilse DeLange and Waylon) represented The Netherlands at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen with their entry Calm after the storm, achieving an honrable 2nd place in the grand final.

AvroTros is yet to decide the method and mechanism it will opt for in order to choose its 2015 Eurovision act and entry. The broadcaster is currently studying and evaluating various options. More details regarding the 2015 Dutch Eurovision project will be released in the coming months.

The Netherlands debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 and is one of the founder members of our favourite television show. The country has won the event 4 times (1957, 1959, 1969 and 1975). The Netherlands has hosted the contest 4 times:in 1958 (Hilversum), 1970 (Amsterdam), 1976 and 1980 (The Hague).

Stay tuned to for the latest news on The Netherlands and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest!