Spain: TVE to release 5 bidding entries on 3 February

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 96 views

TVE, the national broadcaster has announced that the 5 bidding entries that will compete in the forthcoming Spanish Eurovision national final will be released on Monday 3 February on TVE’s Eurovision official website.

The 2014 Spanish Eurovision entry and representative will be selected via a 50/50 jury- televoting deliberation. The Spanish national final will be aired live on TVE 1 next month. TVE has announced the names of the 5 hopefuls along with the titles of their respective entries.

 The 5 Spanish candidates

  • Raul- Seguir sin ti
  • Ruth Lorenzo- Dancing in the rain
  • La Dama- Estrella Fugaz
  • Brequette- Mas- Run
  • Jorge Gonzalez- Auque se acabe el mundo

Eurovision fans will be familiar with Raul and Jorge Gonzalez, both boys have tried to represent Spain at the Eurovision Song Contest. Raul was runner up at the 2000 Spanish Eurovision national final- Eurocancion 2000 with Sueño su boca. Ruth Lorenzo is well known to fans in the UK due to her participation in the X Factor.

Last year TVE selected El Sueño De Morfeo via an internal selection to represent Spain at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo.  Spain as one of the BIG 5 countries is automatically qualifed to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest grand final.

Spain debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has won the even on 2 occasions in 1968 with Massiel and in 1969 on home soil with Salome.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on Spain and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!