Romania: The finalists

by Benny Royston 172 views

From more than 250 songs, Romanian broadcaster has announced the 24 semi-finalists that will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest national selection process in Romania. This an international flavour, Thomas G;son becomes the first man to secure a song in four different national finals in one year in the history of the Eurovision Song Contest! His song, Love struck composed with Gerard James Borg will be performed by Indiggo (see image).

Update: Shortly after the list was announced, two of the artists withdrew. You can read more here.

Gerard James Borgspoke to exclusively after the announcement. He told us "Well great news… I am feeling so "Lovestruck" and Eurovisionstruck….it's giving me Vertigo right now. I hope 2007 is my lucky year!".

Rednex, the Swedish band that sixth in Melodifestivalen 2006 add to the growing Swedish influence on the European selections this year. After appearing in the swedish selection show as a wild-card entry last year, they will attempt to reach a second final in two years with their entry, well-o-wee.

The 24 semi-finalists are: (song, performer, composer)

Music in my Soul – by Jasmine, composer Adrian Cristescu
European – a Beautiful Sin – by Desperado and Tony Poptămaş, composer Kovacsz Laszlo
Let the Music Play – by Ionuţ Ungureanu, composer Eduard Cârcotă
Love Struck – by Indiggo, composers Thomas G:son& Gerard James Borg
Stay United – by Spitalul de urgenţă, composer Dan Helciug
You and Me – byAlexandra Bădi, composer Alexandra Bădoi
Dulce-amăruie – by Nico, composer Costi Ioniţă
Where Were You – by Desperado and Tony Poptămaş, composers Sandi Deac and Kovacsz Laszlo
În lumea mea – by Moni-K, composer Moni-K şi Adi Korekt
Deci 20 – by Trupa Veche composer Trupa Veche
Prinde-mă, aprinde-mă – by Andreea Bălan, composer Yorgos Benardos
Dracula, my love – by Andra andSimplu, composer Marius Moga
Make-It – by Giulia Nahmany, composer Papa Jr.
No poder vivir – by Marcel Pavel,composer Dani Alexandrescu
Nu pot să uit – by Tibi Scobiola, composer Laurenţiu Duţă
Hungry for Love – by Andreea Bălan, composers Keo şi Derek Brin
Rubber Girl – by Gabi Huiban, composer Gabi Huiban
Nu insista – by Daniela Răduică, composer Cristi Nistor şi Daniela Răduică
Şapte – by Celia, composer Costi Ioniţă
Crazy – by Morandiand Wassabi, composer Marius Moga
Gozalo – by Mandinga,composer Mandinga
Sinada – by New Effect, composer Bogdan Raul Vasile
Well-o-wee – by RedNex featuring Ro-Mania, composers Daniel Alexandrescu, Radu Fornea şi Mircea Presel
I Will Love You – by trupa Respect, composer Walter Dionisie

This year as well, TVR will dedicate two days to the semifinals (27th January and 3rd February), withtwelve songs participating in each semi final. The best six songs of each semi final, as chosen by a special jury, but also by the viewers' voting, will enter the final stage. The televoting share is of 50%, while that of the jury voting is also of 50 %.

The grand final, where the twelve songs will participate, will take place on 10th February. The winner will be also decided by televoting (50%) and by jury (50%). The three heats of the contest will be broadcast live on TVR 1.

Due to Mihai's 4th place in Athens with Tornerò, Romaniais once again directly qualifiedfor the final in Helsinki 2007.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!