Belarus: Finalists and national final date announced

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 298 views

BTRC, the Belarusian national broadcaster has announced the names of the 15 lucky candidates that will compete in the 2014 Belarusian national final on January 10 at Studio 600 in Minsk.

BTRC received over 100 applications for its 2014 Eurovision national selection. During the span of 2 days a special jury which included the 2013 Belarusian Eurovision representative evaluated all the bidding entries and acts via a special audition and shortlisted the number to 15. Hence a total of 15 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Copenhagen.

The 2014 Belarusian national final will be aired live on January 10 on Belarus 1. The 2014 Belarusian Eurovision entry and representative will be selected via a mixed jury/televoting deliberation. Ms Olga Shlager will be yet again be in charge of the Belarusian national selection, having organized the 2013 Belarusian Eurovision national selection.

The 15 candidates

  • Matvej Bondarenko
  • Juri Vashchuk
  • Alexej Gross
  • Dariia
  • Zhanet
  • Max Lorens & DiDyuLya
  • Anastasia Malashkevich
  • Artem Mihalenko
  • Alina Moshchenko
  • Band Napoli
  • Band Nuteki
  • Nataliya Odintsova
  • Elena Sinyavskaya
  • Nataliya Tamelo
  • Band Switter Boys

Belarus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and is yet to win the event. The country’s best result in thecontest was in 2007 with Koldun‘s Work your magic, when Belarus placed 6th.

Alyona Lanskaya represented Belarus at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest with Solayoh achieving a 16th place in the grand final.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Denmark on 6, 8, 10 May. Stay tuned to for the latest information on Belarus and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.