Portugal: RTP confirms participation in Eurovision 2014

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 5,263 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster has confirmed to esctoday.com its participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen next May.

The Portuguese broadcaster has not yet decided the method and mechanism it will use to select its 2014 Eurovision entry and representative. More information will be revealed in due course.

Portugal withdrew from the Eurovision Song Contest in 2013 due to financial reasons.

Sweden, DenmarkFinland, Norway, FranceAlbania, Iceland, Ireland, San Marino, Georgia, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Estonia, Malta, Russia, GermanyAustriaFYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Belgium, Spain, United Kingdom, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Hungary, Ukraine, Portugal and Israel have all confirmed their participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest next year in Denmark. Whilst Italy, Moldova and Slovenia have said they will most likely be in the competition.

Portugal has been competing at the Eurovision Song Contest for 48 years having contributed a total of 45 entries, having missed out on participating in 1970, 2000, 2002 and 2013.

Portugal debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1964 with Antonio Calvario, and is yet to winthe event. Portugal’s best placing at the Eurovision Song Contest has been a 6th placing in 1996 with Lucia Moniz‘s O meu coraçao nao tem cor.

Stay tuned to Esctoday.com for more information on Portugal and the Eurovision Song Contest.