MTV EMA Results

by Steve Holyer 65 views

Music fans from around Europe tuned into the 13th annual MTV European Music Awards last night to see Justin Timberlake, Christina Aguilera, Gnarls Barkley, Rihanna, Depeche Mode and others win top honours. Dima Bilan and Brianstorm joined the winners circle with Best Regional Act awards . Lordi did not take home an award, but the monster rockers closed out the show with a manic performance. The awards were broadcast live from Copenhagen.

Fans select the MTV European Music Award winners, and this year the fans chose the Russian singer Dima Bilanover the duo t.A.T.u.for the regional award for Best Russian Act; this is Bilan's second year in a row to win this honour. Fans also chose Brainstorm over Vanilla Ninja in the Baltic region.

Dima Bilan sang for Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2006; he finished second place. The duo t.A.T.u. also sang for Russia in 2003 achieving third. The Latvian group Brainstorm also reached third place for Latviain the 2000 edition of the song contest, whilethe Estonian girl band Vanilla Ninja represented Switzerland in 2005 and earned an 8th place finish. The girls in the current Vanilla Ninja formation hope to return to the contest this year representing their home country.

Serbian Aleksandra Kovac won the regional award for Best Adriatic Act; her father represented Yugoslavia in 1974 as a member of the group Korni grupa.

Unfortunately the regional awards were not announced outside of their region so not all viewers were informed of the wins for Bilan, Brainstorm and Kovac.

Lordi, the reigning Eurovision victors, were nominated for Best Finnish Act but lost out to Poets of the Fall. Still they presented the European award for Best Rock Act, and later closed out the entire night with a now familiar pyrotechnic laden performance of "Hardrock Hallelujah".

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!