New Album: Jill Johnson

by Benny Royston 82 views

1998 Eurovision Song Contest participant, Jill Johnson releases her new album, The Woman I've Become, today. Jill has developed into Sweden's leading country music singer, with contracts in Nashville and a string of successful albums. Her vocal development is shown to full effect on the new album. Here you will find a brief biography, an album review, your chance to win a copy of the album and check out the new songs.

In 1998, she performed “Kärleken Är (Love Is)” in the Eurovision Song Contest, winning the local Swedish finals and going on to represent Sweden in the final.This established Jill as one of the prime swedish artists. The success was followed by the hit album "När hela världen ser på" and a successful tour.Thewoman I've become is Jill's 9th album release.

Jill Johnson gives us the real, powerful strength that only a true artist and singer can bring. On her new album “The Woman I´ve become” Jill proves to be a true natural pro not only as it comes to being an artist but also a songwriter. The album is produced by Nashville top-producer Nathan Chapman and his handpicked musicians forms a fantastic sound and gives the songs another dimension.Featured on the album are some of the most well known voices and musicians such as Buddy Miller, Rebeca Lynn Howards, Lauren Lucas, Stephanie Chapman, Pat Mc Laughlin.

Songs to look out for include Something I can't do and Love ain't nothin', simple and quiet ballads, which makes a pleasant interval from the strong, powerful and uplifting uptempo feel of the album. Cowboy Up, the first single release from the album that came out in September takes Jill into 'Bluegrass Country' territory. Title track, The woman I've become is also a well written and meaningful song that show's how far Jill has progressed as a songwriter over the years. Overall, this is a high quality, well produced album showing Jill's talents as Sweden's top recording country music star.

Check out Jill Johnson's juke box to watch the video of Cowboy Up click, click on 'provlyssna' to hear clips of all 13 tracks on the new album.
You can go to Jill Johnson's official website to view the official Swedish television advert here.

For Swedish readers: Click here to purchase your copy of The Woman I've Become
For international readers: Click here to purchase your copy of The Woman I've Become

COMPETITION – send your answers to [email protected]
In association with Lionheart International, are giving away a copy of The woman I've become. To win, simply answer the following questions and send your answers, together with your mailing address and membership number (seethe bottom of this articleto find this), to [email protected]

  1. What was the title of Jill Johnson's 1998 Eurovision Song Contest Entry?
  2. In what position did Jill Johnson finish at the 1998 Eurovision Song Contest?
  3. With what song did Jill Johnson compete in Melodifestivalen 2003?

01: Till The Cowboys Come Home
02: When Love Doesn't Love You
03: Blessed Are The Brokenhearted
04: Baby Don't Go
05: Same Everything
06: Cowboy Up
07: I'm Sorry
08: Something I Can't Do
09: Love Ain't Nothin'
10: Too Late To Be Drinkin'
11: Everybody Smile
12: Red Corvette
13: The Woman I've Become

*To find your membership number, click on the 'members' button at the top right hand corner of the screen. Your membership number is a five-digit number to the left of your member's profile under the title 'members page'. If you are not yet a member of, you can join for free at the top of the homepage. You will then be able to react to all articles and specials, enter our competitions and use our instant chat service.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!