Kate Ryan, Clouseau & Johnny Logan at TMF Awards

by Benny Royston 93 views

The Flemish TMF Awards take place to night at the Sports Palace of Antwerp in Belgium. The line-up includes several Eurosong and Eurovision Song Contest participants, including Belgium's participant from this year, Kate Ryan, 1991 participants, Clouseau, Johnny Logan, three time winner of the Eurovision Song Contest will be performing with Kaye Styles. Both Kate Ryan and Clouseau are nominated for three awards each.

Not nominated for a TMF Award, Eurosong 2006 participant Laura will be performing on the show tonight in front of 16,000 spectators in the arena. Katerine Avgoustakis winner of the Belgian Star Academy did not succeed in reaching the Belgian final with her band Indiana in 2002, nor solo in 2006. Nevertheless she remains one of the more popular Flemish artists of the moment and is also nominated for three TMF Awards!

Eurosong 2006 finalist Kaye Styles could be successful tonight, as he has been nominated in the categories Best Urban and Best Male. Thanks to the hit single Don't cry, a remake of the Eurovision classic Hold me now in duet with Johnny Logan himself, Mr Eurovision will join Kaye on stage in Antwerp tonight.

Clouseau finished in 16th place in Rome at the 1991 Eurovision Song Contest with the song Geef het op. Their disappointment was short lived and the band have gone on to become the most successful act in the Belgian music history. This year, Clouseau is in the running for three TMF Awards. Belle Perez, who broke through at Eurosong 1999 and finished third in Eurosong 2006, won two nominations.

One question remains: How many TMF Awards will Kate Ryan win tonight? She could well walk away from the Sports Palace with a hat-trick of three awards. Her participation in the Eurovision Song Contest in Athens ended in disappointment when she failed to qualify for the final, she was one of the pre-contest favourites but only finished 12th in the semifinal with 69 points. However, 2006 became a wonderful year in her career. Kate is nominated in the categories Best Video with Je t'adore, Best Female and Best Pop act.

But of course there is more than Eurovision at the TMF Awards tonight. Other artists to perform in the Sports Palace of Antwerp include Bob Sinclar, The Veronicas, Hadise, Nailpin, Daan, Jamelia, DJ Ti보o, Milk Inc., The Pipettes, The Freestylers and A Brand.

Fans wanting to watch the event can do so live on the internet. Click here to go to the live screen page. The show starts at 20:00 CET.

Who are the Eurosong artists' competitors?

Best Video
. Nailpin – Worn Out
. Katerine – Take Me Home (Eurosong 2002 & 2006)
. Milk Inc – Tainted Love
. Kate Ryan – Je t'adore (ESC 2006)

Best Urban
. Brahim (Eurosong 2006)
. Hadise
. Kaye Styles (Eurosong 2006)
. Leki

Best Male
. Koen Buyse
. Gene Thomas
. Koen Wauters (ESC 1991)
. Kaye Styles (Eurosong 2006)

Best Female
. Kate Ryan (ESC 2006)
. Belle Perez (Eurosong 1999 & 2006)
. Katerine (Eurosong 2002 & 2006)
. Natalia (Eurosong 2004)

Best Pop
. Kate Ryan (ESC 2006)
. Clouseau (ESC 1991)
. Natalia (Eurosong 2004)
. Katerine (Eurosong 2002 & 2006)

Best Live
. dEUS
. Clouseau (ESF 1991)
. Belle Perez (Eurosong 1999 & 2006)
. Zornik

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!