Kate Ryan heads TMF nominations

by Richard West-Soley 73 views

Kate Ryan heads a clutch of Belgian Eurovision stars who are nominated for the Belgian TMF awards this year.

Stars of both Belgian Eurosong selection shows and former Eurovision Song Contest performers are up for a variety of awards at the annual event, which this year is held on Saturday 14th October in Antwerp. Kate herself is nominated for a grand total of three awards: Best Video, Best Female Artist and Best Pop.

Eurostars galore
Besides Kate, Belle Perez (Eurosong 1999 / 2006), Katerine (Eurosong 2002 / 2006), Kaye Styles (Eurosong 2006) and Natalia (Eurosong 2004) are in the running for the top prizes in the Belgian music industry. Belle, Katerine and Kate are effectively in competition with each other once again in the category of Best Female. 1991 song contest representatives Clouseau are also in the lineup, for Best Pop, Best Video, and – for lead singer Koen Wauters – Best Male.

Kate is riding high after chart success for her latest single Alive, as it climbs to Number 10 in the Belgian charts this week. Could it be a portend of success at the TMF awards?

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!

Richard West-Soley

Senior Editor

Richard's ESC history began way back in 1992, when he discovered the contest could fuel his passion for music and languages. Since then, it's been there at every corner for him in some way or another. He joined the esctoday.com team back in 2006, and quickly developed a love for writing about the contest. In his other life, he heads the development team at the learning resources company Linguascope, and writes about all aspects of language learning on the site Polyglossic.com.